Xela


Advertisement
Published: August 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I am here and don't really knwo what to do with myself. The house that I am living at has internet, which is exciting. When I arrived, I was feeling so overwhelmed, and then I found out that I could write my parents. Carlitos, the four-year-old boy who lives here took me out to the terrace. It has such a cool view. Looking at the beautiful view of the mountains, Volcan Santa Maria, and Xela reminds me that I am not alone here, but God is near.

We left our house for the airport this morning at 4:30, and I have been traveling ever since. On my flight to Guatemala City, I ended up sitting next to a woman named Carla who lives in Atlanta but has a house in and is from Guatemala. It was such a blessing to be able to talk to her. She also let me use her international phone to call home, gave me her number in case I need anything while I was here, and paid the tip of the guy who helped me get my bags. She was so great! Then, I took a 5-hour bus ride through the mountains to Xela. It was really beautiful but a long trip on winding, wet roads. I met a really sweet Guatemalteca who is my age so that was fun too. Then, I took a taxi and after several attempts of locating the house, we found it. It is different than I expected and way different than Edna's house in Antigua. I am pretty nervous being here, but I think once I visit the projects tomorrow and get some rest, I will be excited!

Love you all and thanks for your prayers!

Advertisement



11th August 2010

Safe Travels
Hey Sister! I am so excited for you! Have fun and be safe and enjoy that wonderful view!
12th August 2010

=)
Glad you made it safely!! Have fun:) i'll miss you and praying!!!
12th August 2010

Praying for you
Hi Steffi! I am so glad to see that you arrived there safely. You have been on my mind all day yesterday and today. I even dreamed of you last night. I dreamt that I flew there with you. It was so weird. I am glad that you made it there safely. I really have been thinking about what you were doing and it really is quite courageous. I know that you are feeling overwhelmed and a bit nervous but know that God is near and will guide you. I pray that you are feeling at peace. I love you soo much and look forward to following your blog.
12th August 2010

Heyyyyyy!! Make sure to be safe and take lots and lots and lots of sweet pictures! I can't wait to hear about all the cool things you get to see and do. Love you!
12th August 2010

So glad that you made it safely!So thankful for the phone call and the kindness of a stranger. You are on my mind constantly. Praying for you to have peace and comfort. So proud of your courage and faithfulness!

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 6; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0476s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb