Email No. 1


Advertisement
Published: January 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

These first entries will be my emails from these dates since I am a little late getting the blog part up and running.....

Hola!

I am here safe and sound in Antigua. It is everything I thought it would be and more. I stayed my first night in the homestay with the family. This morning through my bedroom door, it sounded like there were about 50 people in the courtyard of the house: mostly kids? but by the time I was out and about, most were gone. The head of the house is Olga, and then there is her daughter, Lily who has a 4 month old baby, Sarah. I have also met the 2 dogs: Yogi and Cuci, still don´t know what the parrot´s name is... but he says "Olga! Olga!" a lot. We haven´t had a meal together yet, because no meals on Saturday night or Sunday, but tomorrow, breakfast is at 7am before school starts at 8am. I am totally excited to start the Spanish classes and build up my confidence with speaking.

When I arrived in Guatemala City- I did okay in the taxi cab- speaking only Spanish and holding the conversation for the entire 15 minute ride.... but I can´t help but wonder if our conversations are truly on a 4th grade level? Oh well, I can only get better!

Guatemala City was crowded, bustling, smokey, and scary! My hotel was great, and I would recommend it in the future, but just not walking around the city so much.

Today, I have been walking around the streets checking out the stores, sights, etc. The volcanos are beautiful and huge. Bumped into the British girl who I rode in shuttle with from Guatemala City to Antigua (Josie) last night at dinner, so we had a beer at an Irish pub and will meet up for lunch today. She is going to be at the same school as me. Then just met a couple (Elliot/Meredith) from Marin/Berkeley and will have dinner with them later tonight. There are plenty of tourists here.

So that is my update. So far, my biggest travel mistake was to not staple my vaccination card into passport and to NOT copy it? Why would I not do that? I have already lost it- I think in the Guatemala City airport? So no proof of my yellow fever vaccine to get into Brazil. Oh well, can deal with that when it comes up.

Will email again soon... there are plenty of cafes around Antigua. Will decide how long to stay here once I see what the school is like. Right now, I am hoping I like it and can stay for 2 weeks, then move on to Xela.

This is going to be a great trip!

Lisa



Advertisement



Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0262s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb