Email No. 2


Advertisement
Published: January 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Typical lunchTypical lunchTypical lunch

Well, we don´t always eat cow intestines (Panza- the red dish on left) but that was the lunch last Wednesday. I´ll try anything once, but won´t have Panza again. ¡No me gusta!
(the only reason these are named "No. 2" is because I couldn´t figure out how to get the # sign to come up at first... I am more savy now!)

My dad wrote me an email saying he had found the vaccine card- I didn´t lose it in the airport!

"Ah! I am so happy to know that you had my card! That is great news. I thought I was already being irresponsible! Yeah. You know, I think that the best thing to do would be to just send the card to Vicky and have her bring it to Argentina... the only time I think I may need it is when I am going to be there and maybe take a trip in to Brazil. Were you able to scan anything? Because maybe if it is scanned, I can print it out somewhere if I really needed to.

Just so glad I didn´t drop it somewhere. No problems.

Yes, Dad, someone did meet me at airport exactly as planned with my name on a card, etc. But is was actually just a hired taxi driver from the hotel. So both are right! I promise, I am being
My room at Olga´s houseMy room at Olga´s houseMy room at Olga´s house

Bed is comfy and big - the room is great.
safe.

Had first day of Spanish class today with my 21 year old Guatemalan teacher- Juan. We just speak spanish for 4 hours or so. Some grammar, but no afternoon class right now. I plan to talk to the school and see if I can get some more class time in the afternoons. So far, the school seems good and Juan is good. We are mostly just reviewing things now... will see how far I can come.

The homestay is good. Have now met Olga´s other daughter Patty and her 4 yr old son Feliz. It is a very busy house and today our first meal together at breakfast was good. There are 2 other students there now, Michelle from Canada (Montreal) and Susan from Switzerland. We all speak only spanish, which is nice.

The dinner last night with new friends Meredith and Elliot from Berkely and Marin was nice, although Josie the English girl (from Bristol) is rather negative and self centered, so I decided not to hang out with her too much anymore! Apparently , many English are this way?

And that´s the update. Starting to plan some weekend trips and look into other
My room at Olga´s house 2My room at Olga´s house 2My room at Olga´s house 2

Desk for homework.
schools in Xela. There is a biking trip around the town today with the school, so I will do that. It is HOT HOT HOT today... about 85 degrees in sun, but nice in shade. The weather is cool in morning-evenings hot during day. Typical.

So off to the bike ride.

Talk to you soon.

*lisalisa"

*************************************************************

So the bike ride was great- saw about 6 small towns and their churches- some almost completely demolished by earthquakes years ago. (we thought we should be scared in San Francisco? they had many more earthquakes here it seems!)

The most notable parts of the ride:
1. Mayan woman walking down the street with bundle of sticks on her head... talking on a cell phone!
2. The many stray dogs that followed us through the towns... cute as they were, but I just kept thinking.. why did I turn down that expensive rabies vaccine!?!? The natives tell me I will be fine and have nothing to worry about. Okay...


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

The killer showerhead heaterThe killer showerhead heater
The killer showerhead heater

I have been successful at not being electrocuted so far... and it really does work to heat the water once you get the hang of it!


Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0568s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb