Another lazy day


Advertisement
Published: March 4th 2022
Edit Blog Post

Almost a repeat of yesterday. Usually I like to have things to see and explore while vacationing so not having anything to do any of the days seemed strange at first but I got over it!

I walked to the beach before breakfast today just to enjoy it without all the people. And I ate later since I had to go for my Covid test after. Breakfast was at the buffet again. Today I went with eggs, hashbrowns, fruit and some pastries. The Covid test really puts a pause on your trip. You have to get one to return to the US and you have to wait in line to schedule and get tested, which takes some time out of each day. An online scheduling system would improve the overall process. Anyway, I got in line a little after 9 and had to wait while a few other groups went. The test itself was quick and an annoyance to my brain but it was negative, which meant I could go home the next day. Secretly I was hoping it would be positive so I would be forced to stay for however many more days.

I made a beeline for the beach, set up my stuff in the same spot as yesterday and proceeded to forget about the Covid test once I got a bunch of saltwater up my nose from a giant wave. Took a break to read for a bit and then back in the water for round two of bobbing in the waves and doing not much of anything else. But today I also wanted to check out the lazy river. Walked in that direction and was lucky enough to get a chair in the shade as it wasn't overly busy yet. Now the resort does provide some floaties but the later it gets, the less likely you are to get one. They are usually grabbed by someone and not given up for a long time. They are either floating on the river or floating by the bar. I was able to get one floatie and did one trip around the river. I could have spent a whole day just doing that! But I also enjoyed reading by the pool listening to the kids having a great time. There was a snack bar not far so I left my stuff and walked over to get some lunch. An ok burger and some fresh juice was perfectly satisfying. I sat in the chair until I got too warm.

Rinsed off and changed back at the room and went to check out the lighthouse view. There is a 360 degree viewing platform at the top and the views are amazing. The resort is pretty big and you can see just how big with an aerial view. You can also see the mountains in the distance and a lot of the coastline. No whales or dolphins were spotted but I wasn't expecting to see any. It is apparently whale season but it didn't sound like they would be visible from where I was staying. I did however spot an unoccupied beach chair in the shade and it was still there once I got down. SCORE! I was able to read with the sound of the waves in the background. A group of people put their music on the speaker at the bar and I was curious as to what it was. The language sounded Eastern European and I had noticed a lot of people on my flight and at the resort who were speaking in similar sounding languages. Luckily I could use my phone to find out the song and it was a Russian singer. After reading some articles when I got home there are a lot of Russian tourists in the Dominican who will have a long flight home due airspace being closed to their planes and having to take longer routes. Also some Ukrainian tourists who are allowed to stay, for no charge, until they have a place to go. It seems the Dominican is a very popular destination for Eastern Europeans.

Eventually I got too hot there too and went in search of a cold drink. A very long walk to the coffee shop and I was rewarded with a cold lemonade and a piece of pineapple cake. Back to the coolness of my room and more reading on the balcony. Also finally got the official Covid test results email so I could check in for my flight. Unfortunately United said I had to finish check in at the airport in order to get my boarding pass.

Dinner was at the buffet. Again with so many choices I ended up with a plate that didn't really make sense. Pizza, chips and guac, a piece of grouper, some Mexican rice and a bunch of desserts. I finished off the evening with a drink at the lobby bar. Their version of a Blue Hawaiian, the Ocean. Could have used more pineapple juice in my opinion. I had to dodge the locals selling things on the plaza on my way back to my room. They were very pushy!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0534s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb