Dominica River Tubing . . .


Advertisement
Dominica's flag
Central America Caribbean » Dominica
January 29th 2008
Published: February 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today Jody & I went on tour together in Dominica. I really want to get to Titou Gorge; I've read that it's lovely. So we'd arranged through shore excursions to go on a tour that would take us to the hot springs, then the gorge. It was meant to be a peaceful and relaxing day in Dominica. But that fell through when the tour operator at the last minute said we couldn't go on the tour. That was fraustrating and disappointing. But our brilliant shore ex friends came through and put us on another tour so at least the day wasn't wasted.

We went river tubing instead. Nice day. Lovely scenery. Very pretty.

The river had lots of (small) rapids, so we moved pretty quickly downstream. Fun ride. Except I seemed to defy all sense of gravity. The whole group of tubers would all easily move downstream and somehow, I would manage to float up river. Not just once either. In three different spots along the river. One time, I moved upstream, got myself moving back in the right direction, then circled upstream again; this little circle of mine? Oh, I went around it FIVE times. And just about every rock you could possibly get stuck on, I did. Then, as soon as I'd manage to dislodge myself, inevitably somebody else would drift past and push me right back onto the rock. And of course, I'm too short to reach my arms over the tube to properly paddle myself. So to be honest, the experience at times was rather irritating for me. Jody loved it however!

I admit, I kept thinking how cave tubing in Belize was so much more enjoyable . . .

But it was still a fantastic tour and I recommend it to others. Just hope you don't defy gravity like me!

After the tubing, we were taken to this community hall that sat in the middle of beautiful gardens, framed by gorgeous mountain views. We had the standard rum punch in the sunshine. And another adventure - we're sitting back, chatting with everyone in our van when it suddenly sounds like an explosion. Our driver backed into a palm tree, not hard enough that we felt a bump, but just enough that it came into contact with the back window. And when the window touched the tree, it completely shattered! Nobody was hurt, just completely shocked. And then felt badly for our driver, who surely was now officially not having a good day at work.

All in all, it was a lovely day in Dominica. Really good to be off the ship after last week which was really stressful. And it was nice to spend the day with Jody in a port. I'm determined to enjoy every port this week. So more adventures lie ahead . . .



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

The Top Of The MountainsThe Top Of The Mountains
The Top Of The Mountains

The photos barely capture it, but the colour of the rock peeking out between the green of the trees was really beautiful.
GardensGardens
Gardens

Where we stopped at the end for (what else?) rum punch


5th February 2008

Looks like beautiful scenery. Also sounds like a lovely day in port with Jody. Glad to hear you're taking full advantage of port days :)
15th July 2009

Beautiful
This looks like alot of fun. I Am actually from Dominica and visited the island in December, but never had the chance to do all these fun activities. I live on St. Thomas in the Virgin islands where the heat is becoming overbearingly hot causing me to misss the island even more. Normally I just close my eyes and just make use of my imagination feeling like im swimming in the river like you guys. IM JEALOUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 36; dbt: 0.0367s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb