Touring St. Kitts . . .


Advertisement
Published: February 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

A couple weeks ago, while I was wandering the craft vendor stalls, I started talking with one of the vendors. He offered to arrange an island tour for crew if I got together the group of people, for a really great price. So today, a group of crew - Logan (theatre tech & my cabin neighbour!), Allison (karaoke host), Denny (pianist), Simon (jazz trio), Chris (showband), Peter (piano bar), Jody & myself - took an island tour of St. Kitts. Even though I'd previously seen a lot of the island in other visits, there was a lot of new things today. It was such a lovely lovely afternoon.

In about 3 hours, we circled the entire island. Toured through the city of Basseterre. Visited Caribelle Batik at Romney Manor House. Drove below the hill where Brimstone Hill Fortress sits. Along the coast viewed old sugar mills, fields & fields of sugar cane & saw the islands of St. Eustice and Saba in the distance. Stopped for photos at a gorgeous bay where the Atlantic ocean crashed into a white surf. Visited a spot called "the Black Rock" where below the cliff are black volcanic rocks and the ocean crashes against them. Along the way, we purchased Carib beers from road side stalls. We loved the novelty of being able to drink beer as we rode along in the taxi!

The final stop we made was at a top of a hill, looking down below to more hills, beaches, the island's golf course and way in the distance - Basseterre & the Destiny. I'd rode past that spot before, but it was so nice to get out and take pictures. Stunning.

I really enjoyed St. Kitts when I'd been here before, but I loved it even more today. Remembered just how beautiful it is. Jody & I kept talking all day about how easily we could picture living there. It could be quite easy to take - except for the constant threat that the volcano could errupt, but really, it hasn't in 400 years, why now?


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

The Old RailroadThe Old Railroad
The Old Railroad

Once used for transporting sugar cane around the island.
Enterting the RainforestEnterting the Rainforest
Enterting the Rainforest

Romney Manor & Caribelle Batik sits just on the inside of the island's rainforest.
Water PalmWater Palm
Water Palm

You see these water palms in a lot of the ports down here. What I didn't know, until our guide showed us, is when you hit the plant, water shoots out!
The Saman TreeThe Saman Tree
The Saman Tree

I wrote about this 350+ year old tree the first time I came to Romney Manor. I still think it's majestic.
Group ShotGroup Shot
Group Shot

Chris, Denny, Allison, Logan, Simon, Jody, Me & Peter


5th February 2008

If you do decide to live there, I'll move with ya. We can open a bakery or something... OR fitness studio! lol.

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0421s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb