Becoming a Scuba Gal . . .


Advertisement
Published: January 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today I went back to Coki Beach in St. Thomas to pick up my dive training. Sadly, I am now buddy-less, without Terri. She’s unable to complete the course with me, so I’m on my own.

The first time we went out diving, I was so nervous. I hadn’t expected to be and it left me worried I wouldn’t be able to push myself through to complete this course. Made me wonder if I even still wanted to.

But I had a different instructor this time. And he’s awesome. He’s super laid-back, no pressure, fun guy who makes the academics a breeze. Then we went out in the water and he was so patient and encouraging without a touch of patronizing. He gave me just enough support to help me through my nerves but still left it up to me to get myself through. He gave various explanations that really helped me understand more about what was going on with my body and breathing and being under water so when we went down, the different and strange feeling I felt didn’t create panic, I was able to understand what was going on, adjust and continue.

Down there on the dive, I managed to relax to the point where I could think about what was going on, rather than just feel afraid. And I was working at figuring it out. Understanding how to control my buoyancy (how to keep myself floating at a certain level), figuring out how to move through the water, figuring out how to adjust things. It began to feel possible to “get” it all.

And between moving through the fear and working through the understandings, I was able to have moments of admiration. Able to stop and appreciate that dozens of beautiful fish are swimming along beside me. Able to admire the plants and coral and life at the bottom of the water. Able to spot precious little rarities - like when the instructor found this crazy cool little octopus . . . it was almost like a daddy-long-legs spider, except bigger with crazy long long long legs. He picked it up and had my hold out my hand and he put in on my hand and it crawled along me with it’s tiny little legs, so thin and frail you could barely feel it. It was a great moment of wonder and fascination and looking back on that feeling of discovery reminded me of what it’s like to walk with Aislyn (my friends’ young daughter) from the dining hall to the camp office, stopping to admire everything along the way.

I go back next Monday to power through skills in the water. I feel like I can actually do this, complete this course. It’s changed from being something I’m just determined to do whether it’s enjoyable or not. I just want to do it now. I can do it. And once I’m finished the course, a whole world to explore and wonder at will open up to me.

Advertisement



26th January 2008

Just look at the world around you... right here on the ocean floor!
It's one of the scariest things to start but can also end up being one of the most exhilarating. I've done 27 dives and still get nervous before each dive. That's the fun and excitement of it all. I've never seen an octopus. Yay you! Buoyancy is one of the trickiest skills to master. I can only suggest trying to use your breath the majority of the time, and not your BCD. You'll get it. So proud of ya Netter. See if you can spot a Christmas Tree Worm. They're my favourite. (you can google image search it to see what I'm talking about). They're cool. If you snap your finger beside them, they disappear into their holes...or something. Keep at it babe.
26th January 2008

What a beautiful revelation, Jeanette. You're making me all weepy. :) I am there with you, friend, I am there among the fish. Go forth and wonder.
31st January 2008

Look at this stuff, isn't it neat...
Netter, I am sooo happy for you. This sounds absolutely amazing. I would love to do my dive certification sometime. Take in every minute and remember this for a lifetime. Be sure to say hi to Ariel for me.

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0473s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb