cami´s travel journal...


Advertisement
Published: July 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

here is cami´s travel blog from yesterday. it is really special so i wanted to share it with you all.

Back in Costa Rica and its just how I remember it.

This morning Katie and I went shopping and bought some picture frames, playdough, a boquet of flowers and a soccer ball.

Our first stop was at the comedor where I worked in January with the kids. We grabbed a cab and getting there was like I never left. We arrived at 10:30 just as planned so we could be there to help serve the food to the children at 11:00. Walking up and seeing everybody was better then I even imagined. They all greeted us with hugs and kisses and were so excited that I came back.

We gave three mothers, the mothers of the children I was closest to, framed pictures of their children. They were so greatful, they spoke many words I couldnt understand but I managed to hear corazon(heart) a few times. I asked Karen one of the kids if they have other pictures at home, she said no.

I showed Katie what I did when I was working, and then we got to work serving the kids. Marta the head cook laughed and bragged how I remembered everything, not that its that hard. Rice, a little beans, and lots of bean juice.

For all the kids we left a bunch of playdough and a soccer ball.

On our way out Karen, one of my favorites, took us by her house so she could drop off her picture. I have seen their houses before but never realized the size of each of them because they are so crammed together. The house consisted of four metal sheet walls with a dirt floor. It was half the size of my bedroom( a standard size room not big at all). Inside was a bunk bed against one wall, a small table with pots and pans leaning on another, and two plastic lawn chairs pushed to the back. Katie looked at me and said ¨do they all live here?´ Karen is one of five and their mother. Maria, Roberto, Manuel, Carlos, and Karen, Marta is their mom. That family really has a peice of my heart, it was hard to realize that this is their reality.

After we hugged some more, we left to go suprise my Tica family.
We pulled up and the house had been painted a even brighter pink, beautiful. We stood out front for a couple minutes ringing the bell, she must have seen us through the window because she came out of the house with the biggest smile saying ¨mi hija´
Lots of hugs and kisses later we went inside to catch up. The big news with them is their daughter is having a baby boy. So exciting. It was really amazing to see them. Malra my tica mom called everybody and made me talk to them on the phone(yes in spanish, somehow i did it). She even called Edgar my tico dad home from work. We all had lunch together and she made my favorite sweet platanos. oh they were so yummy! Edgar kept cracking jokes as usual making us all laugh.
Its funny because I really didnt know what to expect, but everything turned out perfect. I couldnt ask for more. It is such an incredilble feeling to know I am apart of all these peoples lives. I only hope they know how much they mean to me, and how they will always have a special place in my heart.
Everyday this trip keeps getting better. Tommorow we are off to the Carribean coast to see some more friends I made last time.
Love you all very much and am thinking about you,
Cami

Advertisement



21st July 2006

cami's journal
Hi Sue, you wonderful person!! I've tried to comment before but being techno challenged it nvere worked. Am loving vicariously living your vagabond life.[think I was born too early]Helped a good friend thru a scary medical test yesterday and one of the nurses has invited me to go to Homer Alaska[becus I'm hippie enuf to fit in] not bad since I'm close to my 75th b'day in Aug. Sorry about your gran, but from what you said she was much loved-as are you!

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0258s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb