Registering For Classes


Advertisement
Published: February 7th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Well today I registered for classes and I have to wait until the 23rd of February to see if I got the classes I wanted. I would say that the system is semi-archaic. Everything is done by scantron and the system of allocating classes is much different from the states. 1st eachstudent is given a ranking based on their GPA (1-10), those students that have a higher ranking have priority in getting the classes they want.

Tonight I'm going to 'the jazz cafe' to see belly dancers and listen to Arabic music. I'm not exactly sure how I said I would go but I'm sure it will be a new experience.

The food here has been good-great. Rice and beans are a few of the main dishes that seemed to be served at every meal. I'm also eating fresh avocados, mangos, papayas, and many other exotic and amazing fruits.

For the next few days I have a chance to go to Nicaragua (don't worry mom, its not dangerous and I would be going with a bunch of people), go to one of the many volcanoes here in Costa Rica, or go to one of the world famous beaches.

For those of you who don't know, I'm now living in an apartment instead of living with a family. I was first placed to lived with two women (70 and 50 years old) and while the food was always made and they were extremely nice i needed my privacy, hot water, and to live closer to the university and the calle amargura (like 4th avenue but much more activity)

Entries to come-information about the beer monopoly in CR, pictures of the university, and my trip to see Arabic belly dancers in CR.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.046s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb