Hostel Owners + People I Kind of Know.


Advertisement
Published: February 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Last night I checked into a new hostel in Jaco. The owner was really cool. He was a former: Pentecostal Preacher, Septic Tank Installer (Shit Man), Rockstar, Drug addict. And a current: Schizophrenic hostel owner.

His being schizophrenic is the reason that he owns a hostel. After years of counseling he finally convinced the United States government that he wasn´t capable of holding a job. They started sending him 1200 a month, which is incidentally enough to own a successful hostel in Jaco beach Costa Rica.

He got into preaching because he heard voices... like the Devil and God and shit... He was the guy who told people ¨You are Healed!¨and then they were based on psycho-somatic magic.

He lost his faith when he started to realize that it was too extreme for him. The voices he was hearing, he decided with the help of psychology, were not those of occultic figures but rather in his own mind.

It makes me think about the delusional US President who has personal conversations with God.

The hostal owner´s philosophy on reality is ¨reality is relevant to what a believer believes.¨When you believe that you can be healed by talking in tongues... you can be.

We also talked at length about the difference between anaerobic septic systems and aerobic systems... which was surprisingly very interesting.

He also told me the best places to find hookers, I didn´t ask he just offered it.

After the hostel owner left I met some Canadiens (Quebec-ians) we went out for a drink, but it turned into eleven. I ran into this girl I went to Spain with in 2003, she works on a yacht that spends its winters in Costa Rica and its summers in Alaska.

It was surpising to run into her, but then I realized it is very likely that I´ll run into lots of other people I kind of know... this is a big world and I know like one percent of the people in it, so yeah. (Big Ups to my homies at McMurdo Station, Antarctica)

I checked into Hostel Pangea, the older sister of the hostel I was staying in La Fortuna. It seems like a really cool place (the internet is free.)

Tommrow I am headed to Lima, Peru.

Peace out, Northern Hemisphere.

Advertisement



1st February 2006

Same Girl?
Was it the same girl that you accidentally bumped into in Spain that we were discussing in Cafe Italia?

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0427s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb