Southern Hemispherical.


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Piura
February 3rd 2006
Published: February 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

I made my way from Costa Rica to Lima, Peru on wednesday. The flight was quick, like three hours. When I got to Peru I was picked up by a woman in her sixties. She took me to her house, gave me food, and let me take a nap.

She was the aunt of one of my mom´s friends. We then took a car and drove around Lima. Its a huge place with lots of things going on. We went to a lookout point where you can see the entire city, the ocean, and the desolate desert that surrounds it.

When we got back to her house we drank beer together. That was the first time I had ever gotten my fade on with a sixty year old woman in the southern hemisphere... boyee.

Later that night I was taken to another relative of my mom´s friend´s. They had a nice house with a semi-private park. They let me do laundry, check e-mail, and watch TV. The next day I was dropped off in the center of Lima. I went to a cathedral, took some funny pictures, and bought a backpack. I´ll try to post these when I get a USB connection.

Thursday night I took a 14 hour bus ride into the northern desert. That sounds kind of ridiculous... ¨Why spend 14 hours to take a bus into the desert when you have so much around you?¨ Well sometimes you have to go far away, to realize that what you really wanted was in front of you all along... also I had a friend living in the north.

My friend Zandi is doing the peace corps in the country five hours from Piura. She comes in twice a month to check e-mail and get drunk. My 14 hour bus ride to Piura wasn´t that bad, they had seats that reclined 24ºs, which is exactly enough.

I got here this morning, got a room next to Zandi´s and hung out with her and her peace corps buddies. Tonight we are going to a BBQ.

I imagine I´ll be in this town for a couple of days, so I can keep this posted with hilarious goings ons, or with mundane occurences... hopefully next time with pictures.

Advertisement



4th February 2006

True Dat
read the alchemist if you haven't already. it's like your desert analogy peace boyeee

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0586s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb