Pura Vida en Costa Rica


Advertisement
Published: April 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I had a fantastic Semana Santa on the Playa Naranjo con mi familia tica and a swiss friend. Mi hermana tica had a birthday at the same time so we had many fiestas. I had five solid days of hearing and speaking only spanish. Que bueno!

Many Costa Rican families travel to the beach for Semena Santa and for this reason the traffic was horrendous. One would think that because the country is so small it would be pretty easy and quick to get around, but it is quite the contrary. There are many mountains of course, horrible roads, and many times a lot of traffic.

I have had some really interesting conversations with ticos throughout the last couple of weeks. We have talked about everything from Costa Rican’s current events regarding tourism and it’s effects on the naturaleza, the immigration of Nicaraguans and it’s effects on the social services in Costa Rica, the question of whether Costa Rica should have free trade with the United States, the fact that prostitution is legal in Costa Rica, what type of travel experiences Costa Rican’s have had when visiting the United States, the buses and their religious decorations, the general opinion people have of the United States and the stereotypes associated with America, ect.

I have to admit that I was a bit disturbed when a couple of Costa Rican’s described a similar situation they had when traveling to the United States. While in the United States they had people yell at them “Go home Mexican” and one said he felt that he was treated like a criminal at times. While they had a great experience in general, one never forgets the negative experiences when traveling. I would like to think that the majority of Americans realize that not all latinos are Mexican and that not all of latinos in the United States are illegal. It is amazing how interesting how ignorant people can be though.

This is similar to a situation in Costa Rica and the fact that they have a lot of Nicaraguans that have immigrated. It has to do with the fact that in both situations you have neighboring countries with drastically different economic situations. People want a better life, but at the same time it can have a negative effect on the country receiving the mass amounts of immigrants. It is a difficult and sensitive issue, but it leaves a bad taste in my mouth when people have bad experiences in my country.

This morning on my way to school I am noticing that I cross paths with the same people every day and we say "Buenos Dias" to each. I feel like I am living the life as a tico with my daily routine and I enjoy feeling like I am a part of the community. After I walk across a couple of major highways to get to my bus stop, I then hop on the Tres Rios bus into San Pedro. It is interesting how almost every bus is decorated with religious symbols. I have seen prayers painted on the side of the bus just above the drivers head, rossaries dangling from the mirror, and pictures of Jesus, Mary, and other symbols. To top it off, the other day I saw something very unique. The ball associated with the stick shift was clear and placed inside the ball was a picture of the pope staring up at the driver or at his band, depending. This same bus driver was talking on his cell phone the whole time while driving through the city and I was thinking about how glad I was that he was religious. Also some buses don't have a rope or a button to push when you want to get off. You simply have to yell PARADA (STOP) when it is time to get off. I love it!

Stay tune for more later.....

Advertisement



14th April 2007

Thanks Amy
Thanks Amy for the vivid description of your experiences. It is a joy to read and I can imagine your face and your voice as if I were hearing you tell out loud yourself. Keep it up! ;-) xo Timothy
14th April 2007

Tico crazy and loving it!
Your writing is great. I love how your putting more little jokes in your messages. Like the fact that the bus driver was talking on the phone while driving. And you were glad that he was so religous. You're doing a lot better of job of putting your humor into your messages. I know you're whitewater rafting this weekend. So I'll try to get in touch with you on Sunday. Keep loving life and I'll keep loving you. Dameon

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0354s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb