Life in Costa Rica


Advertisement
Published: April 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Pura Vida (Pure Life)! Estoy en Costa Rica y vivo en San Jose con mi Familia Tica (Costa Ricans)! This is my first opportunity to start my blog and I am currently working on posting my pics. I have been having some problems doing so, but they will be on the way.

My adventure started off with a coast to coast tour of the country, which was a wonderful way to become exposed to the varying "naturaleza" Cost Rica offers and learn about the culture and history. The highlights included the Arenal Volcano and the hot springs surrounding it, the Cloud Forest, Tortuguero National Park on the Caribbean coast and Manuel Antonio National Park on the Pacific coast with much in between of course. We also visited some of the plantations of Costa Rica´s (rich coast´s) major exports which consist of bananas, coffee, and ornamental plants and flowers.

While surrounded by the lush forests and inhaling the fresh air, I couldn´t help but think about how Costa Rica´s "naturaleza" exhales such a large amount of oxygen for earth to inhale. What a refreshing thought! It is pure enjoyment to step outside the fast paced, monotonous life associated with modernity and take the time to smell the fragrances of the rainforest. I feel well connected to earth in this moment.

Currently I am living with a Costa Rican family and I am partaking in a spanish immersion program in San Pedro. In my opinion, an immersion program is a very effective way to learn a new language. I am truly surprised at my ability to speak and understand spanish in this moment. It is always humbling when learning something new.

My family here couldn´t be better. I am enjoying the opportunity to experience life as a tico and step beyond the perspective of a tourist. They have invited me to go on vacation with them to a beach on the Pacific coast in the Guanacaste region, which is perfect because I haven´t seen that area of the country yet.

As for my fellow students, they are friendly and consist of Americans, Swiss, and Germans. They are all adventurers as myself.

I have also been parcipating in classes related to latin dancing and cooking. I absolutely love latin dancing and I have have had the opportunity use some of my moves at some local discotheques. Dancing is a huge aspect of the latino culture and the music mainly consists of salsa, merengue, cumbio, and reggaeton to name a few.

Overall my experience in Costa Rica has been wonderful thus far. The ticos are such friendly people! I hope that you are all doing well!

Advertisement



2nd April 2007

Bien hecho mi amiga Amy!!
Hey Amy glad to see you are having a blast down there. Can't wait to see the pictures. Hopefully when you get back you can cook some of the dishes you like the best, oh and Dennis will probably want test your dancing moves when you get back. Stay safe and enjoy every second of it. Tu amigo, Roberto
3rd April 2007

Fun!
Sounds like you are having an awesome time! It sounds beautiful their. Enjoy every moment, my world traveling friend you!
12th April 2007

Way to go, Aimes!!!
Aimes! I love your blog entry! It is so beautiful and filled with passion! You make me want to visit Costa Rica and do an immersion program, too. YOu are an inspiration! I'm so proud of you! Keep rockin' that Spanish and wowing them with your dance moves. When you're gone, I can guarantee that Costa Rica will remember you! :) Love ya!

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0611s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb