Here I go again!


Advertisement
Published: September 28th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I am off to Costa Rica today and starting another adventure. I have been so changed by my journey to Africa. It’s very hard to put that down for a while and open myself back up to a completely different reality, so soon.

I will start at Earth University and then continue on into the rural countryside to see how most people in the rural areas live. (I can't wait to contrast their way of life with the rural cultures in Africa.) I am unsure of internet connections, so have patience. I will try to update as much as possible and add a picture or two. 😊

On a completely different note... I just want to say, I still get messages from around the world about the Africa trip. Thisl seems unreal to me, how so many people cared about this blog. People are still finding it and emailing me saying how touched they are about the stories I've told. I say this not too brag about the number of people that read it, but to say that the world is a positive place, with so much more good then bad.

All of you, who have been touched and moved by my words that simply describe what is real in the world, give me everlasting hope that change is within our reach. I am working everyday on making some small changes in Ethiopia. The comments and emails and conversations that I have had, with so many, have given me strength to keep trying to "make a half of drop of difference in a ocean of problems." I admit it is easy to fall back into my life with carpools, kids, pool parties and life, in general. However, each time someone emails me or asks me a question about what I experienced, it reminds me of my bolder purpose. I use the word bolder because that is what it is, seeing my life as mission to care and nurture my family, myself and to care and nurture the world too.




Advertisement



24th July 2005

Off you go...
Kim, I pray that all goes well with your trip to Costa Rica. It seems like just yesterday you were in Africa. It's so hard to believe. This morning I heard the most beautiful song and it totally reminded me of our talk we had the other day over the phone about changing peoples hearts through education to motivate them to participate in making a difference. I am going to try to get a recording of it and send it to you. It's like it should be your motto! The words are: "Regard man as a mine rich in gems of inestimable value. Education can, alone, cause it to reveal its treasures, and enable mankind to benefit therefrom." This is a quote from the Baha'i Writings about how education can lift us up to be of service to mankind. You have totally been a source of true education to so many through your blog and it gives hope to each person to do their part to make a difference. I am so eager to see the fruits of your experience and the efforts that spring from it. Much love and have a safe trip, Valarie

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0539s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb