Taking it easy


Advertisement
Published: February 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Today I decided to take it easy and just stay at school and do some work and go home. My teacher is sick and will not be here all week, so I was moved to another class temporarily. My new teacher's nice and we're learning how to better use the grammar, which is great for someone like me! I'm finally in the swing of taking the bus alone, which is really nice. When I got home, mamá, Roberto, and Tatiana (his gf) were watching The Others (some scary movie with Nicole Kidman) in Spanish. I actually followed everything and it was so much fun. I was so proud of myself because there were no English subtitles and I was commenting on the movie with everyone in Spanish too.

Tonight, I also decided to go to church with my mamá tica because I wanted to see what it was like here , plus she goes every night, so I figured it'd be nice of me. The church was beautiful but a little overwhelming. There were pictures of Jesus hangung on the cross everywhere, and I wasn't sure how I felt about that...I later learned it was a Catholic church I decided to go to, something I probably should have asked first. I was pretty lost the whole time because everyone did this little bow/curtsie thing everytime they passed a picture of El Señor (Jesus, which took me 20 minutes to figure out). The problem was there were pictures of Him everywhere, including the floor and I always messed up. Everyone seemed to have the sermon memorized too, but it was nice to listen to. The came the time for communion, which I obviusly didn't take. My mamá tica, did, though, and then she came back and prayed, probably about me not taking communion 😊 I was like a good 8 inches taller than like everyone there too (and obviously gringa) but no one cared. Everyone was very nice, and all in all, it was a great experience. It was definately very powerful inside and I'm glad I went once to check it out. As we left, we were given a panecito (small peice of bread) because Santo Augustin used to give bread to the poor every Tuesday. It had a sweet flavor and was delicious and it was cool to take part in a tradition like that.

Then, I was a good kid and did my homework and passed out by like 8pm. I've actually been going to bed before midnight almost everynight and waking up at 6am to run before class. Who would have ever seen that coming? Costa Rica is doing great things to me and I am glad that I still have a couple of monthes here. I know it's going to go by fast, though, so I'm just trying to enjoy it all and learn as much as I can. PS, I LOVE talking in Spanish 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0707s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb