¡Fútbol!


Advertisement
Published: February 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Last night I went to my first fútbol (soccer) game EVER, like ever in the US or here. What a great place to see my first one, huh? I knew they were serious about soccer here but, wow...it was an experience. I went to dance class first, though, which was fabulous. My teacher is so cute and she taught us the cha cha and cumbia. The cumbia is this weird kind of jumpy dance. The first time I saw it, i thought I could never learn, but it's not too hard and it's very fun. The teacher was very impressed with my skills of course, which is always fun 😊

I went straight from dance class to the game in a taxi by myself for the first time also. I was a little nervous at first but it was perfect. My taxista was so nice and we talked about North Americans (that's what they call us because they are part of America, too) and how people are always weirded out by the directions and addresses here. There aren't really street names or house numbers. Directions are from reference points (like my address is from the Perimercado) and they use meters to tell directions (200 metros este del Perimercado, la casa verde). One block equals roughly 100 meters. I was so psyched I talk to him in Spanish the whole way. He was very nice and waited for me to take sure I found my friends before he left!

So, the team we were rooting for was Saprissa and their colors are purple and gold. There was a section of locals chanting like 10 different cheers the whole time, clapping to the rythm and holding up a huge purple cloth. It was quite a site. Then, when our team scored, everyone (the locals) jumped on the goal and hung on it...needless to say, they were quite excited. We ended up winning, and then I bought a cool jersey (that I'm actually wearing now) for 4 bucks! Am I a bargain shopper or what? On the way home, we stopped to get some food and I had real Mexican food for the first time since I've been here. It was heaven! I've never been so happy to see nachos with cheese, letuce and tomatoes. Why do they not eat Tostado chips here? I don't get it, but now I am held over til I return. Then, we took a cab home and I chose to sit in the front seat (usually I sit in the back and talk with my friends). I talked to the taxista again in all Spanish and it was amazing. I think I could just ride around all day talking to taxi drivers...

Today, I'm going to get my hair done (the roots aren't looking so hot), so wish me luck. I'm making mamcita go with me to make sure I don't leave with red hair or something. Tomorrow I leave for Puerto Viejo, the Caribbean part of Costa Rica. It is apparently like a different world...All I know is that I'm going to sleep in a hammock and I've never been more excited in my whole life! More on that when I return....

¡Que tengan un buen fin de semana¡ (Have a great weekend)

-Jules

Advertisement



Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.027s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb