Getting to know San Pedro by walking 1-13-11


Advertisement
Published: January 14th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Margie & I were home all morning. I was following up on some leads to a place to rent in Atenas but nothing quite right yet. I certainly don't have to move since I could stay here but Atenas is smaller and has warmer temps. Here in San Pedro we're a bit to the east of San Jose which means we're up a little higher and temps are usually cooler. It probably sounds like I'm nit picking but upper 70's to mid 80's vs low 70's can make a difference. Plus this is a big metropolis...as far as I'm concerned. So I've talked to a few people with rentals or who know someone with a room or apartment to rent in Atenas but none are quite right yet.

By 3pm both Margie & I were really ready to get out of the house. We decided to venture out of the house again but this time follow the bus route part way to San Jose, to familiarize ourselves more with the area and avoid feeling or getting lost again. I'll be posting some photos I took on our walk.

Nitzi's mother is a very sweat Tica, her Costa Rican Spanish is difficult to understand, but she lives here with Nitzi. Yesterday she had cataract surgery on her left eye. I guess she was extremely nervous and couldn't sleep for a couple days before hand but she is doing just fine. Some of you know that I recently had cataract surgery on each of my eyes as well.

We're talking about taking a trip to the beach, probably Jaco since that's the closest. From what I've heard it's quite touristy with surfers and others from all over. Not sure when yet as I'm waiting to hear back from my friends Kat & Layne in Atenas so we can set up a day to go there, see the area and hopefully see possible rentals.

I think tomorrow is the local farmers market that we'll go to if we get up early enough!

Ciao,
Barb




Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



14th January 2011

So Costa Rican Spanish is different??? That is surprising. I am really enjoying your photos. Very nice!
18th January 2011

the Spanish here does seem different
but I think you can find differences between all Latin American countries and even different dialects within contries.

Tot: 0.148s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0524s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb