The big move to my own room


Advertisement
Published: January 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I was able to make the 'Big" move into my own room here at Nitzi's house today. Margie is staying in our old room by herself, at least for the time being. My room is at the other end of the house. We have a different kitchen...smaller. I prefer using the larger one, which I plan to do.

I've met a few more people here including a young man fro Florida, Will, who is here for a bit of R & R after graduating from college with a masters in business. Another young man, Greg, from Maryland who seems to be a semi-regular person here at Nitzi's. He's traveled many places and was evidently quite wild as a teen and young adult. But now he says he much more settled down. Greg has told us quite a bit about Nicaragua. He's very taken with parts of the country. Margie is considering taking a bus there but it might be further than my health issues will allow.

We had a former resident of Nitzi's stop by today for a visit, Rachael. She's originally from Brazil but has lived in Florida for years. She's attending medical school here to become a doctor because it's much cheaper. She has a husband and 7 year old daughter back in Florida.

This afternoon Margie and walked to a park several blocks away and also to a grocery store Arollos por Menos, Savings for Less. It was pretty nice but hardly anyone there compared to El Peri-Mercado, we're not sure exactly what this one translates into but it's closer to Nitzi's house. I took some photos of the outside of Nitzi's house and the neighborhood. I'll try to post them as well as the others from San Jose yesterday...please be patient as I was having troubles trying to do that last night.

Margie & I have both spent time in Antigua Guatemala, so we do find ourselves comparing Costa Rica to Antigua. There's no cobblestone streets or sidewalks which are very charming but can be dangerous to walk on. Especially those of us who aren't real young.

We don't have any definite plans for tomorrow but we're talking about going to the beach.....stay tuned!

Ciao,
Barb




Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



13th January 2011
Nitzi's House.....my home for now

Nitzis
Looks safe and secure. :)
14th January 2011

Well, this was a very interesting read! Sounds like you are settling in a bit. How are you doing with finding food that you like and can eat? I see some clouds in the pictures. I bet you are loving the humidity and warmth! Look forward to the next posting! Love you! me
18th January 2011

I'm eating a lot of beans & rice and...
fruit and veggies. Some meat in their typical bocados, which I think I mentioned in an earlier blog.
18th January 2011

I feel quite safe and secure here...
I think I'll feel even more so when I move to Atenas.

Tot: 0.302s; Tpl: 0.028s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1567s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb