THE OLD AND THE NEW


Advertisement
Published: January 23rd 2017
Edit Blog Post

MUSEUM OF ARTMUSEUM OF ARTMUSEUM OF ART

Lovely old building.
THE OLD AND THE NEW

After a day of rest, recuperating from two days of touring Costa Rica, I felt revived and ready to do a little sightseeing. I had the hotel’s excellent continental breakfast and then sat by the pool for a while just enjoying some down time. Then I grabbed my camera and left the hotel to see what I could see on this, my last full day in San Jose.

First stop was the dentist office just up the street. The receptionist unlocked the door. All the businesses on the streets in Costa Rica seem to lock the front door. There was a lovely lady sitting on one of the waiting room chairs checking her phone. I told the receptionist I was interesting in having my teeth cleaned. The lady behind me said, “I’m the dentist.” She said usually people made appointments. I explained that this was my last day in the country and she said she could see me at 2:00 p.m. I was grateful, and told her I would be back.

There was a large public park across four lanes of traffic. Instead of crossing I turned right, I usually do, and walked
FUNCTIONAL ARTFUNCTIONAL ARTFUNCTIONAL ART

The children loved climbing on this.
up the street just looking at store fronts, signs and people passing by. When I finally got to a large cross street, and a Mc Donald’s, I took a left and continued walking. I saw a large official looking building across the busy street and paused, wondering how I would get across. There was a young Indian couple with two children waiting also, looking for a way to cross the street. The mom and I started talking. They were from Virginia. Finally I realized we were no closer to crossing than when I first arrived, so I laughed and decided to go back the way I had come; there was a pedestrian overhead crosswalk several blocks back. Instead there was a break in the traffic and we all hurried across.

The building was an art museum with a big “free admission” sign. The children were enticed by a large, climbing structure on the plaza in front so I left the family there and went inside. I looked at a few pieces of art and then exited out back to look at some interesting sculptures. The family arrived shortly, while I was busy photographing the sculptures. I started for the
SCULPTURESCULPTURESCULPTURE

This is one strong woman, if she can get up from this pose.
exit when Neesha said there was much more in another wing of the museum.

And so, I was introduced to electronic/mixed media art. First I saw a crudely drawn shape of a face outlined by broad black brushstrokes, super imposed on roughly sketched vertical and horizontal lines, also in black. Where the eyes should have been were two rectangular monitors, sometimes filled with white noise, and sometimes with eyes. The eyes changed from female to male, and sometimes the screens showed movie clips. I turned away, and went into the next room. Coming back I saw that there was a clip of violent acts of war…a helicopter landing, bursts of automatic weapons, a soldier taking aim. Then the eyes were back, gazing in sorrow, in contemplation, or just watching. Once in a while cartoon hands tried to erase the images; clear the screen. I stood mesmerized, for ten minutes or more. It was the most powerful piece of art I have ever experienced.

There were other pieces also using the screens. The one that had a powerful message was in a small room bathed in a red glow. In the dim light were five or six meat hooks
OUTSIDE SCULPTUREOUTSIDE SCULPTUREOUTSIDE SCULPTURE

I love the way the artist made marble look soft, like fabric.
hanging from the ceiling. From each dangled a roughly hewn representation of a beef carcass, a sheep, a pig, a fish? Under each was a monitor, glowing red. A constant dripping noise was broadcast in deep sonorous tones, and with each drip the red monitors showed ripples spreading without ceasing. Now I am a carnivore, I love my meat, but this was powerful, and in that whole wing of the museum, I could not escape the haunting, dripping sound.

Conscious of my dental appointment I tore myself away from the museum, and went up the street for lunch. Then made it right on time to the dentist office.

As for the old…The dentist was very competent and we had a great visit while she cleaned my teeth. But her equipment was several years out of date. She used the old water and spit routine and her machine had a mind of its own and sprayed water all across my chest. I had to laugh. She finished and wanted to coat my teeth with protection…I suddenly realized the old squirt bottle she was holding was fluoride and quickly rejected this. My teeth were smooth and noticeably whiter and I
BRONZE SCULPTURE OF HARDWORKING FAMILYBRONZE SCULPTURE OF HARDWORKING FAMILYBRONZE SCULPTURE OF HARDWORKING FAMILY

The child is hidden. Lovely architecture of the museum in the background.
felt good about the process. If I return to Costa Rica for more complicated dental work, however, I will do some research first.

I stopped by the Seven Eleven next door for some popcorn and met a local young man who had studied at MIT. He is currently making electronics to use with Legos so kids can make robots and other mechanical items.



My flight is tomorrow so after dinner I spent the evening packing and getting ready for getting away.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

MY FAVORITE PIECEMY FAVORITE PIECE
MY FAVORITE PIECE

I found this display haunting.
WARWAR
WAR

Such a shock to see violence suddenly appear in this piece.
EVER-CHANGINGEVER-CHANGING
EVER-CHANGING

Erasing the image of man's inhumanity.
HISTORY IN WOOD CARVINGHISTORY IN WOOD CARVING
HISTORY IN WOOD CARVING

One whole wing was entirely covered in beautiful wood walls and lovely old furnishings.
THOUGHT PROVOKINGTHOUGHT PROVOKING
THOUGHT PROVOKING

My flash changed the photo. The room was dim, lit by red light.
I AM WOMANI AM WOMAN
I AM WOMAN

Great wooden sculptures.


Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0404s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb