PANAMA - SURPASSING ALL EXPECTATION


Advertisement
Central America Caribbean
December 21st 2016
Published: January 25th 2017
Edit Blog Post

IT'S BEGINNING TO LOOK A LOT LIKE CHRISTMASIT'S BEGINNING TO LOOK A LOT LIKE CHRISTMASIT'S BEGINNING TO LOOK A LOT LIKE CHRISTMAS

Lovely tree in my hotel lobby.
SURPASSING ALL EXPECTATIONS

PANAMA

After a truly turbulent flight, I jumped through hoops in the airport with baggage, customs and immigration. At last I stepped outside the airport into hot humid Panama. I paid the taxi and got my hotel key, walked into my room, and WOW!! Coral Suites is probably the best surprise this weary traveler has ever had. My room is huge, with bathroom and full kitchen. There is a small dining table with two chairs, and a long work bench under a large screen TV.

My first day I called dive shops and read the Panama Focus, kind of a what to do in Panama booklet. I read about a restaurant that served high tea and decided I really wanted to do that. I found the small restaurant near me, Chez Titi de Te, with the help of many angels. There are few street signs and directions are as simple as “behind the Pomodoro Ristorante”. Finding the Pomodoro was a challenge in itself. It was sure worth persevering, however.

Chez Titi de Te is tucked in a corner behind a large beauty school. It has a Matisse-type mural covering one wall, with stairs leading
CHEZ TITI DE TECHEZ TITI DE TECHEZ TITI DE TE

Mural behind the stairs leading to the loft.
up to an intimate loft. The walls were decorated with shelves filled with collectibles, and the decor enhanced with tasteful holiday decorations. The waiter tried to tempt me to a full meal, but my heart was set on the High Tea. I have been to Victoria, British Columbia, just over the border in Canada, three or four times. Each time I have promised myself I would have the high tea, and each time the exorbitant cost has deterred me. I wanted to indulge myself. It felt like the ultimate luxury. And I did feel like an elegant woman of means (almost), sipping tea and enjoying my platter of four salts (small roast beef sandwich w/yogurt garlic sauce, large chicken crepe, shrimp and pineapple ceviche in a delicate edible crust, and a petite Swiss cheese quiche) and four sweets (vanilla muffin, strawberry sorbet, lemon tart, and an individual-size chocolate pound cake) plus a delicious glass of fresh carrot and mint juice. This lovely treat fortified me for the day of turmoil which followed. And the cost was only twenty dollars American.

The next day, after almost a full day of trying to set up dives on the computer I decided
WONDERFUL FRESH JUICEWONDERFUL FRESH JUICEWONDERFUL FRESH JUICE

My waiter, Jhon, was so polite and welcoming.
to take a taxi to the dive shop and do it in person. Besides I thought it would be fun to go to a dive shop and talk diving. The hotels in Panama City include a comment about the proximity to the dive shop (what dive shop, you may ask) in their property description. But the reception desk did not know anything about dive shops. The dive shop I chose was not close to the hotel. It was about a fifteen minute taxi cab ride away. Not so bad, you think.

When I arrived I had to wait ten minutes for the staff to find someone who spoke English. The young woman did not try to sell me some dives. She said, maybe the visibility was not so good. And maybe the hotel in Portobelo, where the dives were, was not so good. I finally just said book me for a day of diving. Then I will decide if I want to dive some more. I had to wait a couple of days, due to the holiday, and because the shop needs more than one diver to make the long drive to Portobelo worth their while, but I had
FIVE STAR FOODFIVE STAR FOODFIVE STAR FOOD

Everything was delicious.
a reservation and the driver would pick me up at my hotel the day after Christmas.

By the time I had finished in the dive shop it was rush hour traffic. It was also December 23rd. The last real shopping day before Christmas. This meant there was no taxi to be had. After waiting almost an hour for a taxi, I decided to walk. I walked for an hour and a half beside a six lane divided highway. I walked well into the dark. The roads were confusing, taking little divergent paths. Finally, in a largely industrial area I spied two security guards behind a locked iron gate. I asked one how to find my hotel. He was visibly alarmed, and told me I should not be walking alone in the dark along the highway. I was exhausted, although I didn’t feel at risk. I asked him if there was a McDonald’s close by, the first of three landmarks I was looking for. He said yes and opened the gate and allowed me to cross into the residential area behind the factory. I went into the fast food restaurant and bought an orange juice and fries, since I had
ENJOYING MY HIGH TEAENJOYING MY HIGH TEAENJOYING MY HIGH TEA

Although I missed sharing with friends, I had a wonderful time.
plans for a nice meal later. I asked a young woman if there was a correct way to hail a taxi; which side of the road I should be on, etc. since I hadn’t managed to get one earlier. I walked out the door and immediately a taxi stopped for me! I paid the same amount for the taxi as I had to get to the dive shop, and I had walked more than an hour and a half closer, but it was such a relief not to be walking in the dark, I felt it was a real bargain.

When I got back to my hotel I arranged for a Panama Canal boat tour and pick-up the next day. Then I went to a little pizza place across the street and ordered half a roasted chicken and fries. After eating, I fell into bed, exhausted.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

TREE "TREATS"TREE "TREATS"
TREE "TREATS"

I enjoy looking at decorations.
CHEZ TITI TREECHEZ TITI TREE
CHEZ TITI TREE

...and other beautiful decorations.
THE LONG WALK BACK TO THE HOTELTHE LONG WALK BACK TO THE HOTEL
THE LONG WALK BACK TO THE HOTEL

There are many interesting kinds of architecture in Panama City.
IN THE DARK...STILL WALKINGIN THE DARK...STILL WALKING
IN THE DARK...STILL WALKING

Still lots of traffic.
BEDROOM SUITEBEDROOM SUITE
BEDROOM SUITE

It looked so welcoming after my long walk.
KITCHENETTEKITCHENETTE
KITCHENETTE

I especially enjoyed the dining table and chairs.


25th January 2017

Panama...Expectations
Outstanding job on your blogging "PANAMA SURPASSING ALL EXPECTATIONS". If was a fun read with good pictures added. It was a bit scary reading about your walking in the dark at night and the security guard showing concern. Overall a good job of sharing your high tea experience, it was enough to make me want to go to high tea and find out more of what it is all about. I am looking forward to your next installment to find out how the diving was in Panama. Keep up the great blog writting. Your numero UNO fan, Michael
31st July 2017

Panama...Expectations
Hi, Michael... It sounds scarier than it was. Well...maybe not.

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0541s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb