Two weeks of rough'in it


Advertisement
Costa Rica's flag
Central America Caribbean » Costa Rica » Limón » Cahuita
February 21st 2005
Published: February 21st 2005
Edit Blog Post

HOLA TODO!
Well, well, well.... I've been at my turtle project for almost two weeks exactly, completly cut off from civilization. I bused into a small town called Batann which is on the Caribe cost right north of Limon. In Batann, Paul who runs La Tortuga Feliz, picked me up. We took a cab about 30 mins, and then a boat for another 45 until we ended up at a little island that really only an island because its surrounded by rivers. Only 35 people or so live on this island, no electricity, no stores, nothing to really do but dig a HUGE fucking hole for the turtle egg hatchery. It was hotter than ass the first day I was there, but it rained almost everyday since I got there. We were actually trapped on the island for a few days because the only way to get in or out is by boat, and all the roads leading to the dock were flooded. I met this guy named Vince here (hes fruity tuty I think) and we have now traveled with a German girl named Maja, and another girl from Wisconson named Erin. We are now in Cahuita which is
Vince in the hammockVince in the hammockVince in the hammock

The rickety have hung porch at La Tortuga Feliz
just south of Batann and Limon. I think at least me and Vince will travel to Puerto Viejo in a few days but who really knows...
I've been having such a great time here. When things really come down to it, I miss the family, and Grumbles, and my own bed, but Im having a really great experience. Its been good food, lots of sweat, good times, and good people. Maybe tomorrow I can up load some pictures for everyone to see. I'll try to call tomorrow as well Mums and Pops.

Outie= Eryn

P.S. Morgan, tomorrow me and Vince are going to try and roll a splif with a bananna. A few days ago, we made a bong out of a papaya leaf and a plastic water bottle. Much love.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

The one road on the island at La TortugaThe one road on the island at La Tortuga
The one road on the island at La Tortuga

Feast your eyes on the ONLY road in that place!


31st July 2005

whappin
cahuita is the best place in costa rica. pure culture. pure magic. ask for laura wilson... listen to walter ferguson... paz gregorio

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.048s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb