Ah! Finally...an Internet Cafe


Advertisement
Published: March 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi Folks

This is just a quick line or two to let you know that we arrived in Herredia on Wednesday, 19 March at about 9PM safe and sound with El Enano in tow.

Haven´t been able to post anything until now because the entire country seems to shut down during Easter Week. Everything that is except for the grocery stores. It was really strange walking around the streets of Herredia on Thursday morning with no traffic, no pedestrians, every store shuttered and closed.

So today was the first day of class at IPED. It was great to see Zeita, David, Maritza and the other faculty at the school. Everyone commented about how much my Spanish has improved since October. I kept telling everyone I had not practiced all that much with Kathi, but I think they didn´t believe me.

Over the next day or so I need to back track on our log because no Internet was available this past week. Thus far I´ve taken about 800 pictures mostly of local sights, processions, and people in processions. I must admit the people here take their ceremonies seriously...at least the ones that don´t go to the beach during Semana Santa.

Easter is a big party time here. I read in the papers this morning that over 8000 traffic tickets were given out over the week and about 100 cars impounded due to drunk driving. This country doesn´t have a large population, so it must have been quite some party.

Advertisement



30th March 2008

Internet Availability?
I read an interesting article at CostaRicaHQ.org that said internet in Costa Rica is regulated by the government. How difficult is it to get internet access? I'm considering an extended stay and will need a stable internet connection while I'm there...
4th April 2008

Internet
Marcus We were staying in Herredia which is a university town about 5km to the Northwest of San Jose. Internet Cafes abound in the area. I counted at least five within easy walking distance from the language school where we were taking classes. It takes a bit of patience to figure out the keyboard, but otherwise the service seems to be adequate and a reasonable cost. For us it ran about 250 colones for a half an hour for computer time. Hours of availablility vary but usually they run from 9 in the morning to 9 at night. I would say that in the more populated areas and tourist areas you shouldn't have a problem with getting an Internet hook-up or at least a computer with a connection somewhere. The Captain

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.029s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb