Poas and Other Adventures


Advertisement
Published: December 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Volcan Poas


So before our last group excursion, we decided to do something awesome and hilarious for Nneka. Nneka has become pretty famous among us for her outrageously funny statements. So, the rest of us secretly made t-shirts that said "I Love Nneka" on the front, and then each one of us had a different one of her quotes written on the back. We all wore the shirts Friday morning on our excursion to Volcan Poas and lined up in front of the bus to reveal them to her. She loved it and thought it was both touching and hilarious! On our way to Poas "Don't Stop Believing" came on the radio and we had an epic karaoke sesh which I caught on video 😊 when we finally arrived at Poas, it was freezing cold and completely fogged in. We weren't able to see anything! The crater was a white wall of fog! So we got coffee and entertained ourselves by taking silly pictures of the group. On our way back down the mountian we stopped and got strawberry shakes and walked around a beautiful humingbird garden. Later Friday night the majority of us ladies went to La Rumba, for salsa dancing! I had a blast, I danced with a few horrible dancers, but one good one made up for it!

Saturday I went to a hotel in Sarapiqui with Lorena, Abdy, Abdy's boyfriend Memo, and Lorena's oldest daughter's family: Cynthia, Maribel, Juan Carlo, and Ale. We hungout there for the day and checked out the ruins of an indiginous tribe called BriBri. Pretty cool, unfortunately I was tired from a late night of dancing. Luckily Abdy and Memo were tired too, so we all took naps on lounge chairs after lunch haha.

The following Monday our group went to a small organic coffee plantation. We learned about the production of coffee and then went out to the fields and learned how to pick the berries. I think we all saw immediately how tiring it is to pick coffee, and it takes a LOT of little berries to make just one bag. I have a new appreciation for each cup that I drink! After picking for a while we went back to the owner's home to taste the coffee and have some fruit and crackers. Yum! The coffee was good but extremely bitter.

The following Saturday night I went to a fancy club called Oblique with my tica sisters Abdy and Irina. We had a private table and bottle service and had a blast dancing with each other all night! I took my first blow job shot which was kind of hysterical as it was loud and a bunch of hot latinas were explaining what I had to do to take it! I'm pretty sure Irina's friends liked me as several of them complemented my dancing and told me I didn't dance like a gringa 😊 yay! All in all it was a really fun night!!

As I'm writing this, it's my last night here. I can't believe how fast it went. I had my history final Thursday and felt good about it, and finished two pretty awesome paintings in my painting class. I'm off to have my farewell dinner, and when I come home, all of Lorena's grandchildren are spending the night to have breakfast with me before I leave tomorrow. Kind of speechless!


Additional photos below
Photos: 40, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0487s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb