Montezuma


Advertisement
Published: December 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Montezuma


The day after Thanksgiving, I decided to take advantage of one of my last weekends here in Costa Rica and adventure to Montezuma. Definitely one of the best decisions I've ever made. Helen, Adele, Drew, and I left Friday morning at 5:00am for the 6:00am bus in San Jose, three buses, a ferry, and 6 and half hours later, we arrived in the beautiful town of Montezuma. Before I move on, I have to comment on the final bus ride where a drunk, homeless guy sat on the floor right next to where I was standing (the bus was packed).. He smelled horrible but was hilarious as he pulled out his radio and decided to translate English songs into Spanish. The downside was he kept scootching closer to me, and I was essentially backed into a tiny corner for the bus ride, which Adele and Drew thought was freaking hilarious and took a video of, ha! Anyway, the four of stayed in a little hostel called Llena Luna (full moon) which was awesome. We had a quite, comfortable room with a giant deck and view of the ocean. Friday afternoon we headed into town (after all taking glorious COLD showers) to check out the street venders and have some lunch, where I had the best seafood pasta of my life and of course a celebratory cerveza! After lunch we checked out the beach and the rest of the town. I absolutely loved Montezuma, in fact it may have been my favorite place that I visited. The town was gorgeous, surrounded by jungle and beach, with a local hippy vibe. The people were so mellow and friendly, I just felt completely relaxed the entire time I was there. After cleaning up a bit Adele and I headed into town to have coffee and chat. We all shared pizza for dinner and then decided to go to the park and swing on the swings, as no one felt like partying. We went to bed early and got up early the next morning. After breakfast we took a cab to Playa Santa Teresa, where we hung for the entire day Saturday. The beach was awesome. There was a surf competiton happening and lots of young hot bods on the beach! It was awesome to be able to just chill on the beach all day and do nothing, haven't done that in a while (contrary to the images many of you have of me hanging on the beach all day) The sunset was phenomenal and our cab driver came back for us at 6:00 to take us back to Montezuma. We had another early night and got up early to hike to one of Montezuma's three waterfalls. The hike took about 45 minutes as we somehow found the trail that led us to scaling down a mountain side, but we had a blast. The fall was beautiful and we swam and Drew and Adele jumped off rocks. We had to catch the bus at 2:00 Sunday afternoon and when we arrived there was about 100 people waiting for the same bus, we made it to the ferry and across the water but didn't have a secure ride from Puntarenas back to San Jose. Helen ended up talking to this local guy who worked for a car company and had to take a car back to San Jose that night, so he offered us a ride. I realize this seems a little sketchy, but he ended up being awesome and we talked about classic rock the whole 2 and half hour ride back haha!! All in all it was a very mellow, relaxing weekend in one of the most beautiful places I've ever seen. So glad I got to go.


Additional photos below
Photos: 54, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0587s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb