La Fortuna


Advertisement
Published: December 14th 2010
Edit Blog Post

10 am pick up and we were off…..for 6 hours in a van driving through the mountains across Costa Rica to the Arenal Volcano area. Beautiful scenery but it does get tiring after a few hours – especially for kids. They managed well, Julia especially! Me, well I tried my best, for those who know me I am worse than my kids when it comes to travel and especially car rides. The drive to the cottage is far enough for me so the thought of 6 hours really freaked me out. Surprisingly, I did survive and it wasn’t as bad as I imagined. A few stops along the way and a good selection of tunes on my IPOD and I was good to go. Not sure the kids enjoyed my singing out loud but whatever gets you by, right?
We were a bit nervous driving in to the hotel grounds as it was pretty bare and rough road….however to our surprise Paradise awaited once again! The resort is breath taking with views of the Volcano from almost every angle, 19 hot water spring pools, a monkey slide, and beautiful grounds filled with Tucans, birds and hopefully more monkeys. They also have a wildlife reserve of over 24 types of cats. Not sure we will have time to get to them as we have 3 days filled with adventure. Today we are heading white water rafting down level 2 & 3 rapids. Sarah is scared and I am as well. Wish us luck! I'll report on our return from the day!



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.169s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0544s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb