Fried yuca & Tico-style humus


Advertisement
Costa Rica's flag
Central America Caribbean » Costa Rica » Alajuela » Atenas
February 20th 2011
Published: February 21st 2011
Edit Blog Post

I guess by reading the title of today's blog you can tell I was focused on food! I just prepared and ate some fried yuca that was wonderful! If you've ever had cassava chips, they're made from yuca. It's a starchy root vegetable similar to a potato. So I boiled the peeled chunks of yuca in water until they were done then flattened them out somewhat like you light do with a potato and then fried the pieces in some olive oil and salted them to taste. Very good indeed!

The Tico-style humus I've made before but this time I added fresh cilantro and a bit of hot sauce in addition to fresh garlic and salt to the cooked and pureed garbanzo beans. I have a blender that works pretty well for the pureeing. Since I don't have any tortilla chips I used warmed up corn tortillas to fill with the humus. It was very good. I also had it as a dip with raw carrots and last time with red bell pepper and that was outstanding!

So it was a successful food prep and eating day!

Other than feeling so very grateful to be enjoying the warm tropical breezes here rather than being in the cold weather and snow back in Central Oregon there isn't much else to say!

La Pura Vida,
Barb

Advertisement



21st February 2011

Your food sounds wonderful. I am glad you took the time to rest.
21st February 2011

the food was good as well as...
taking the time to rest!

Tot: 0.153s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0547s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb