Last day of January...more daylight hours??? and trip plans


Advertisement
Costa Rica's flag
Central America Caribbean » Costa Rica » Alajuela » Atenas
January 31st 2011
Published: January 31st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Last day of January 2011.....

So are you noticing the days getting longer there in Oregon, Washington and Maryland yet? It seems to me it's noticeable by the end of January.

Early this morning, about 6:15, I went outside and recorded a brief audio/video of the morning bird sounds that I will post momentarily.

Otherwise I haven't been out of the apartment yet today but plan to go for a walk in an hour or so.

I've been working at planning our next trip for the middle of February to Arenal Volcano, Lake Arenal and Monte Verde. But first about our trip planned for this week. We're taking the bus from Atenas down to San Jose, not my favorite place, then at a different bus stop catch a bus to San Isidro de General. It's a agricultural town south of San Jose where the road takes you up to about 11,000 ft. over a pass called "cerro de muerte" which means pass or road of death! Sounds like fun doesn't it? It isn't as dangerous as it used to be.

We'll be staying two nights at: http://bosquedeltolomuco.com/ where we can explore San Isidro as well as hike in Cirripo National Park. Then on Friday we plan to head to the beach, Dominical to be exact and have our first opportunity to see the Pacific coast of Costa Rica. We don't have accommodations yet for a third night along the beach but I'm thinking the drive back to Atenas through San Jose will be too long and it could be dark when we get to SJ. Not a good idea. So we need to figure that part out.

One possible glitch for this week's trip is that Barb thinks she's coming down with something so we'll have to see how she's feeling by late tomorrow I guess!

So back to our mid-February trip. Much of today I've been figuring out where we want to go and what we want to see and where we might stay. More on this when plans firm up.

So a relatively short blog today...

Hasta luego,
Barb







Advertisement



31st January 2011

When we took mom out for her birthday dinner, we commented on the fact that it was still light at 5:30! Nice. Pass of Death????!!! Really. That could keep some tourists away I would think. Your trip sounds wonderful! Is it you and Barb? Or is Margie joining you? I hope Barb #2 doesn't get sick. Not fun. I will check out the link for the place you will be staying at for 2 nights. Are you taking your computer?
31st January 2011

I sent an email to invite Margie but ...
haven't heard anything from her yet so it might be just Barb & I. I'm keeping my fingers crossed that she can go. This trip I've had my share of changed plans due to people being sick ;) I'm thinking about taking my computer in my backpack and also taking my small suitcase with wheels. I'm waiting with packing until I know for sure that Barb isn't sick.

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0546s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb