ATM hassles....ocular migraines....laundry day...la pura vida!


Advertisement
Costa Rica's flag
Central America Caribbean » Costa Rica » Alajuela » Atenas
January 27th 2011
Published: January 27th 2011
Edit Blog Post

You can tell by the title of this blog that it wasn't an easy carefree day but I wouldn't call it a bad day either.

I had intended to go to Pilates class again but after reading an email from Barb that she wasn't going and having a series of ocular migraines I talked myself out of it. These migraines are relatively minor compared to regular migraines but they do affect vision and here you need to be able to see where you're walking since most sidewalks are in poor condition.

Later in the morning I once again walked to one of the banks to see about getting cash in Colones. I may have forgotten to mention this ongoing dilemma in a previous blog but ever since I came to Atenas I've had a lot of trouble getting cash. None of the ATM machines would take my debit card. Last week one of the banks wasn't too busy so the teller was able to help me get cash/dollars to long way. It took at least 20 minutes. Well finally this morning the teller I spoke to said I had to call my bank and let them know about my problems. My real estate friend Shelly let me call through their skype account this afternoon and the problem seems to be resolved as I was able to get some cash! YAY! I was sure I had filled out the vacation notification form through my bank but they didn't have a record of it. So evidently that's very important to do before traveling to a foreign country!

Today was also laundry day. Whopee!

Tomorrow is La Feria which I plan to go to in the morning and hopefully video chatting with my sister & mom.

You might remember me mentioning that I might be going with Barb on a birding tour but unfortunately it's just not going to work out for me to do that. But there are others around that might work out better for me...I hope!

I'll post the few photos I took today now.


Ciao,






Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



27th January 2011

So Barb has ocular migraines too? You said you had many things in common with Barb but I was thinking good things, not migraines! Poor Barb. You haven't had any since you got there have you? Too bad about the excursion but I have confidence that you will find just the one for you! Wow! I sure hope you were successful in getting the cash thing straightened out! What a hassle.
28th January 2011

no actually I was referring to myself...
having ocular migraines this morning. I had three minor ones within about 2 hours. Like I told Barb I am learning to live with my limitations and what's great is that I can be out and about here in Costa Rica and enjoy the outdoors...go walking, etc. I'm a hermit for months at a time back in Central Oregon.
29th January 2011

Oh, I got my Barbs mixed up......... ;->
30th January 2011

that's a pretty common
problem!

Tot: 0.162s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0558s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb