DAY ONE - Grand Cayman


Advertisement
Published: May 17th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Tropical ParadiseTropical ParadiseTropical Paradise

Many palms and hot, hot, weather. Sometimes torrential rains, but usually short.
May 2, 2015



Day one, Grand Cayman







I finally booked a hotel in Grand Cayman the night before I left the U.S. It appears the only bargain in the Caribbean is the airfare. The cheapest room I could find on Cayman Island was $125 a night. This really scared me, since I expected to find some budget housing. At least I had a destination on the island and I was sure to find something more reasonable after I arrived.



My flight touched down at about noon on Saturday, May 2nd. Check-in was not until 4p.m. so the first order of business was to purchase a sim card for my Verizon phone at the airport but the phone store is closed on Saturdays. I proceeded to get a taxi from the kiosk at the airport and was quickly delivered to my hotel, the Riviera. I learned from the front desk that there was going to be a parade in town so I had a drink at the bar and then changed into a short sleeve shirt, planning to walk up town. As I was rummaging in my bag two
Hotel pool and barHotel pool and barHotel pool and bar

I am not much of a drinker but I did use the pool for laps. Very clean and never crowded.
young men grabbed bicycles outside the office. I asked if they were going to the parade. They said yes and asked me if I wanted to join them. I jumped at the chance.



Riding a bike to the parade was a little scary because the traffic drives on the left side of the road and there are virtually no shoulders, and you are expected to ride with the traffic. It was disconcerting wondering how close the unseen cars would pass. The bicycles had no gears and no mirrors.



The parade, or Carnivale, was supposed to start at 2 pm. At three pm we went to a large supermarket and got some food from the deli. Food seemed a bit more expensive but it is probably partly due to the exchange rate. The market was like a huge American market. People were pleasant and eager to help. Everyone spoke English. After we ate our lunch we locked the bikes and walked to the street to wait for the parade. We waited, and waited, and watched families arrive with small children, sidewalk chairs and snacks.



My dad once said, “If you’ve seen one
.My hotel from the beach.My hotel from the beach.My hotel from the beach

The beach is all jumbled dead coral so it is difficult to walk. Very good house reef for snorkeling and diving.
parade you’ve seen them all.” Boy, was he wrong on this occasion! When the parade finally got to us it was a surprise, at least to me. The carnival was mostly women dressed in very scanty flamboyant costumes, following trucks playing loud reggae music. When the music came to the chorus, everything would stop and everyone would sing along. The participants would bend forward at the waist and rotate their hips amazingly and men or other women would come up behind and thrust and rotate against them. Quite a sight, and for families?? I must say some of the women were amazing, their hips rolled like well-greased machines. They strutted in feathers and sequins, headdresses, lower leg decorations, beaded waist bands and low cut bras with feathers and fringe swinging. Some wore high decorated collars behind their heads, framing their faces. Many were liberally sprinkled with body glitter. There were short shorts, long shorts, and no shorts. It went on and on, women (and a few men) followed each truck like a drill team, and each group wore a different color. There was a group in purple, then a group in lime green, one in orange, white, you name it. Also there were a few men on stilts doing amazing dances; a few men were on foot wearing flags on long poles sprouting every which way, supported on waist belts or back boards. Many young people in the parade were so drunk they could hardly stand. Interestingly, many of the women had body scars from various surgeries; many were really overweight; and they came in all colors and shades. It was a celebration of their bodies as they are, and in some weird way, it was inspiring. Feathers and carnival beads fell along the route like leaves in early autumn, and the noise went on and on.



Fritz and Oliver took photos with their phones. Sadly, in my haste to get ready and not keep the guys waiting, I forgot my camera. They have promised to send me some but so far I have no photos of the parade to share.



Finally we had had enough and we went returned for our bikes. Riding back to the hotel through the crush of people, was a challenge. I suggested getting off the main road, the parade route. I narrowly missed getting hit by a white pick-up truck while crossing the street. I honestly didn't know if he would stop or how he could miss me. I had trouble braking without a hand brake, and staying close to the curb since there was no shoulder was a challenge. I was so relieved to finally get back to our hotel in one piece.



I tried to convince Oliver and Fritz to take the kayaks out, but they were not water people. They did ask me to dinner. While Fritz cooked a tuna sauced with garlic, onion, and chopped tomato, I swam several laps in the pool and took a shower. The tuna was served with white rice and lettuce served plain. It was perfect, the first real meal in two days. We ate in Oliver’s suite which had a sitting area, a dining area and a big kitchen. Both men are Jamaican, married, with young children. Oliver is Fritz’ boss and they are here on business. Good food and good conversation wrapped up an interesting, adventurous first day in Grand Cayman.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.363s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 23; qc: 124; dbt: 0.1284s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb