Cayman I : Lighthouse Reef


Advertisement
Published: August 3rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Trigger FishTrigger FishTrigger Fish

60 mm lens one dive try outs.
Lighthouse

The lighthouse is pretty chill and kick back. It belongs to the same operation as cobalt and all the dive needs are covered. Gear bucket, camera bucket, nice outside shower, a few suit-up dive stations. The entry into the site is a long dock over the rocky shore into the water that gets tricky with the surge. We used the rope at the end to lower the camera. There are buys with ropes that guide the divers to the wall. On the first dive I stay in the packed sand looking for the gaudi gobies but didn’t see any. Yet. I tried the 60 mm lens but the water was merky so that didn’t go to well. I couldn’t shoot any fish with out lots of back scatter. I saw huge squid. A big peacock flounder and squat lobster in anemones right under the pier. But I was afraid to smack my head so I went to deeper water. I explore the holes around the pier and found a jawfish jawning every time that I got close and I found another seahare. Lots of green mantis with white eyes. And at the end of the dive steve showed me a green moray with lots of shrimp and gobies around its head. I scared it with my light. I guess I don’t know how to approach big critters. On the way out I found a cute trigger with I think was my find of the day. It was so pretty.

On the second dive I helped Steve shoot that soldier fish with an amphipod on its front head. We were going for the “one” surprised enough found a bunch of them I even got the chance to shoot my own. I also saw a big black grouper maybe a Golliat. So cool. Oh and a gorilla crab. I love those. On the night dive, I found a group of sailfin blennies doing mating display. I spend almost 1 hour with them following the female. She was dressed up for a night out flirting with all the males around. What a show! And my find of the day was a pink crab cutting off a piece of coral and stealing it. I did a short dive in the shallows.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Female sailfin blenny.Female sailfin blenny.
Female sailfin blenny.

She was moving so fast from male to male that I wish I had video.
soldier fish with blue eye amphipodsoldier fish with blue eye amphipod
soldier fish with blue eye amphipod

I don't really have attraction for amphipods but he was on my face so I had to shoot him
Sailfin Blenny  Sailfin Blenny
Sailfin Blenny

Male hoping to get lucky
Mr. LobsterMr. Lobster
Mr. Lobster

This guy must be the oldest citizen of the light house. He patrols the site. He is huge. The biggest lobster I have ever seen and all the locals know him.


Tot: 0.273s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 24; qc: 34; dbt: 0.0431s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb