Christmas in the Caymans


Advertisement
Published: June 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Day 4: Snorkelling off Paradise.



I saw a fly today, "hi there, I know you". Seen some weird bugs but very few bugs at all and there are Geikos too (at least I think that's what they are). Small enough to fit in your hand and curled tail, cute. I just never have my camera around when I spot them. Everybody says hi here! Not just the locals either, friendlier than even at home in the maritimes.

We head to Paradise Restaurant to do some snorkelling. The water is about 30 feet from the main street. See pic below of the street & black coral. The coral doesn't look like much, but just 2 feet out in the water it is spectacular. Grand Cayman is known for the snorkelling.

Huge fish just out of my reach lounging about, staring back at me with their googly eyes. Tiny colorful fish dancing around in the water. Crabs skittering around the rocks. Who wants to be my supper? I'm not hungry most of the time, but, they have turtle burgers here and before I leave the island I'm getting me one of those!



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Paradise restaurantParadise restaurant
Paradise restaurant

Snorkelling area in George Town, right on the main street.
snorkellingsnorkelling
snorkelling

You might be able to see the floating trampoline at the top of this pic that you can swim out to. Snorkel gear & lockers are for rent at the restaurant. The coral is a little rough but worth a few scrapes.


Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0228s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb