Even a day that starts with rain is a good one here!


Advertisement
Published: December 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

GeorgetownGeorgetownGeorgetown

With no cruise ships in town
It rained, hard, last night. So we woke up to a wet and slightly colder place than usual. It's okay, though, even a cooler day here is better than most!

Let's see, yesterday was a typical GC day. Eat, go to the pool, eat, go to the beach, eat, go to the hammock. Oh wait that's my mom's typical day. Well mine's about the same, honestly.

We went to Georgetown yesterday and walked around "shopping" for a few hours. There were no cruise ships in town so it was nice and calm. Sam spent some of his money on a necklace, and I bought a "got rum?" Tshirt that I love 😊 It was nice on the one hand, since we could park and walk around without coping with thousands of people who don't know how to get around....yes, I understand I'm being mean, since I'm a tourist too...but on the other, it wasn't all that great since many of the shops were closed! On a Monday!

We snacked on a "pattie." It's like a meat pocket. Spicy and yummy. I think Mom was thinking it was like a Cornish pasty, and that may be what it's based on, but it's a unique kind of on-the-go snack thing. I like 'em. I had my first one last year when Mom was indisposed one day so I knew it was a good eating opportunity.

We have determined that it is Paul Allen's yacht in harbor. He's one of the co-founders of Microsoft, the one you don't hear much about. And he's got two of these monstrosities. I'm just jealous...I want a yacht with a helicopter, sailboat, two powerboats, and jetskis. And that's just what's on the outside that I can see. The descriptions of what's on the inside are cringingly covet-inducing. Paul also owns the Seahawks. The man knows about toys, that's for sure.

We have looked into getting an underwater camera...and I guess decided not to. The one we have is malfunctioning, and Mom had been thinking about a new one, and we still might rent one from Cathy Church for later in the week, but today we bought a sleeve to take one of our regular digital's into the water for a test run. I just want photos of some of the awesome fishies 😊

Today we did some more island exploring. We looked
TatooshTatooshTatoosh

Paul Allen's second-largest yacht
for, and failed to find, the stable where my acquaintances have their horses, and the public golf course. We successfully found the bird sanctuary (turtle pond). Spotts Beach, and then spent time at Smiths Cove. Now this is both good, and bad. The good is, Smiths Cove is one of our favorite places. The bad, is that a photo of it has been featured in so many travel guides that now everyone knows to go there. So there were a lot of people. I did get to visit the baby fish nurseries and take some nice pictures though.

More pool and tanning time when we got home; cooked chicken for supper; and now it's time to wrap up another day in paradise!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0441s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb