On the sunny side


Advertisement
Published: December 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I'm sunburned today. I have spent the last week working on "the perfect tan" for the Swedish genes, and today those genes trumped my careful consideration. I know that it's not too bad, I'll be able to sleep tonight and it'll be better tomorrow, but it's still irritating. My one goal for this trip was to return home with a glowing tan....which I will have, but at what price??

This morning was the welcome coffee & juice (no longer breakfast) at the resort. Once again, Sam got to be Iguana Boy extraordinaire. He loves that! And finally Gilbert does seem to be cueing into recognizing us (albeit in a generic sense). I recall our first year's welcome being much more welcoming...even last year, there were pastries and more stuff to think about...but I understand that there have been cutbacks everywhere, so it's to be expected that things will change.

We're thinking about the Waverunners excursion to Stingray City/Sandbar & Rum Point this year. Sam and I went down to check it out a little more this morning, and if the winds calm down some I think it's doable.

Spent time at the pool today (hence, the sunburn) and
Me, Sam, Joezilla and JoemamaMe, Sam, Joezilla and JoemamaMe, Sam, Joezilla and Joemama

Gilbert, or "Joe Tourist," brings his iguanas to his presentations. Sam gets to help hold the beasties. He loves it!
then the afternoon at Cemetary Beach, which I think may qualify as our favorite beach to visit. It may not be the most spectacular area, but it's comfortable. We know it, the fish know us, and Ketty and Tommy are always going to be there to pay our repects. *Note, however, that I still have not found out the back story...but I have located records of a lawsuit initiated by Ketty's estate against Tommy's, which means someone thought what killed them was Tommy's fault...sigh...am planning a trip to the library, possibly tomorrow, hoping to find out.

The underwater digtal camera that Mom brought along has fritzed out. So I am going to Cathy Church's to rent one, maybe Tuesday. I am determined now to get some 'decent' underwater photos. Dangit. Today we found a really cool fish, shaped like an angelfish, black with yellow stripes. Beautiful. And a bunch of the regulars, too, including a grouper, queen angelfish, snapper, parrotfish, and sergeant-majors. And one massive urchin.

Jack Sparrow and I have something in common tonight..."why is the rum always gone?" I've polished off three bottles of yummy orange rum liquor...and have no doubts, I shall be buying more
FishFishFish

I promise, they look much better in person.
tomorrow...

I stayed up too late last night reading Mom's book, so I am headed to bed early for another big day tomorrow! We're going to town for the day. No cruise ships in...a good thing for us!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

My mom, the floatieMy mom, the floatie
My mom, the floatie

And that's Sam in the background snorkeling away. He has his gills firmly attached at this point.


Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0339s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb