Average Cayman Wednesday


Advertisement
Published: January 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

DogDogDog

A fairly typical GC mutt dog, this one was hanging out by Macabuca/Cracked Conch and Tortuga rum tasting store.
The resort that we own at is the Grand Caymanian Resort. It's the only timeshare condo type place on this particular area of the island (the North Sound). We have our own private dock. This morning, and tomorrow morning, this dock is the departure point for trips to the stingray sandbar at 8:00 am. This time means we're the first ones out to the sandbar in the morning, beating out hundreds of cruise ship passengers who mob the area all the rest of the day. I bring this up, because tomorrow, we're going out to see my darlings!

The first year we came out here, I had a bit of an anxiety attack on our trip out to the sandbar. I have long standing issues with deep water and creatures that inhabit same; the stingrays are harmless, and it took me a bit of time to realize that. The end result was I missed out on the family trip but I went alone the next day to really get in with them. And I fell in love. Stingrays are awesome! They are graceful, and beautiful, and peace incarnate. I love them.

So tomorrow I'll have lots of great photos, hopefully, to post about our trip to the sandbar!

We went to Cathy Church's to rent a camera for it, too.

Today, we did the same wonderful Cayman vacation things, plus a little on the top; we got to do some rum samplings. That always makes us happy. And across the street was a lady selling conch shells for $10 US apiece so we're hoping to be okay coming home with our 13. The bummer was getting trapped by a Jeep tour. The thoughtless SOB's triple parked right behind our car in the parking lot and mobbed into the shop, leaving us to wait on their rum swilling selves to leave before we could get out, too. It's a good thing there was free rum, and patties, or heads would have rolled. I was furious. But I got over it. Sam and I fed scraps to a local dog for a while to pass the time.

Spent more time at Cemetery Beach snorkling, and it paid off in wonderful fishiness. Saw several rays and some new kinds of fish. Didn't get any pictures on the digital, but that did serve to motivate Mom to rent the camera for tomorrow. And I have high hopes that it turns out well.

My tan has plateaued...I'm not getting any browner. I'm also not getting any redder, so that's good. And I am happy with it....just jealous of my son's beautiful skin...he looks like a native, just about.

I'm eating taffy and drinking rum and thinking happy new year's thoughts. 2009 is going to be a good 'un!




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.061s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb