Belize (short)


Advertisement
Published: June 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Caye CaulkerCaye CaulkerCaye Caulker

My favourite activity in Belize...speargun fishing!
Not wanting to spend too much time in Belize City, a place where sunset means danger, I took a quick boat ride to Caye Caulker, or otherwise called Backpackers’ Paradise (despite the fact that it is relatively expensive).

There is not really much to report on my five days spent on this small island…I went fishing most of the time, even did some spear gun fishing trips (where I lost the spear…typical!), got my introduction to wind surfing (really hard), chilled out at the beach and then partying with other backpackers at night. Caye Caulker is a really relaxed place, where you feel the reggae vibes coming out of every little hut, where most locals are Rasta men enjoying their little smoke outside of their shops…a very different feel from all other central American countries I had been too…and they speak English too…kinda, if ya no wot I mean, maaan?!?

So, after five days, when my liver started to complain and reminded me that whiskey is not a necessary drink for survival, I left the island and made my way up to Yucatan, Mexico for a little sip…of Mayan culture.





Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Caye CaulkerCaye Caulker
Caye Caulker

Waking up and seeing this...pretty tough life..
Caye CaulkerCaye Caulker
Caye Caulker

Main street on Caye Caulker...very busy indeed
Caye CaulkerCaye Caulker
Caye Caulker

One of the piers where I would chill out and go fishing
Caye CaulkerCaye Caulker
Caye Caulker

I love it...
Caye CaulkerCaye Caulker
Caye Caulker

Another good fisher and thief...would never be too far away..just in case I caught something...
Caye CaulkerCaye Caulker
Caye Caulker

Windsurfing is really tough!..struggling here on the picture...


Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0312s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb