Yucatan, Mexico (short)


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico
June 8th 2009
Published: June 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Chichen ItzaChichen ItzaChichen Itza

That's one of the new Seven Wonders of the World
I had now less than one month to go on my trip around the world and was really looking forward to go to Cuba. I wanted to buy a plane ticket in Cancun that would allow me to stay in Cuba for about three weeks. I had therefore only one week left for Yucatan, in Mexico’s south.

I came from Belize and went up to Merida on one long travel day by bus. Yucatan is much more westernised than all the rest of the countries in Central America that I have seen. Houses, cars, shopping malls, people …pretty much the same as in the south of Europe…with a bit more of salsa vibes though. I met up with Anabel who happily showed me around in the city and surrounding areas - the best way to visit and discover a new place is obviously to be with locals! I also took some salsa classes that were given for free at the hostel every evening…I was the only guy in the class…but did not complain about that.

There were only two places I wanted to visit before leaving for Cuba: Uxmal and Chichen Itza. I visited the Uxmal Maya ruins on
UxmalUxmalUxmal

The main temple
a sunny day trip from Merida, which gave me plenty of time to explore these fanciful carvings and temples.

On my way to Cancun, I stopped at Chichen Itza, one of the New Seven Wonders of the World. To be perfectly honest, I was already Mayaed out…I could not take it anymore and Chichen Itza, though pretty impressive, was a bit disappointing…the big drawback of Chichen Itza however are the crowds of tourists coming from Cancun. I jumped back on the bus after only three hours on the archaeological site.

I arrived in Cancun at night, bought a return ticket to La Havana on the next morning, withdraw some cash, put it in my socks, and left two hours later for the airport, a big smile on my face!



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

UxmalUxmal
Uxmal

Wouldn't want to have to go up there every morning...
UxmalUxmal
Uxmal

Nice stone carvings
UxmalUxmal
Uxmal

One of the buildings in the back..can't remember what it is exactly though...
UxmalUxmal
Uxmal

That is still very nice...and pretty big!
ProgresoProgreso
Progreso

With Anabel on our afternoon excursion to Progreso
ProgresoProgreso
Progreso

Relaxed little beach town north of Merida
Chichen ItzaChichen Itza
Chichen Itza

The main temple
Chichen ItzaChichen Itza
Chichen Itza

Yet another temple in Chichen Itza
Chichen ItzaChichen Itza
Chichen Itza

An absolutely huge Mayan Ball Court...I think that the winner had the honour to get decapitated...


Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 12; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0191s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb