Caye Caulker


Advertisement
Published: January 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

A day on the island. I woke for sunrise and watched the day wake up. My new friends from Canada were leaving for a trip so I saw them off around 7 then I went to Glendas for breakfast.

I shared a table with man from Norway. On the way back, I stopped for coffee and spent about 45 minutes visiting with a couple from Maryland who shared how tense their work is and how they are looking for something else to center their life around. The coffee was good.

Back at the hostel, I sat and talked with Martin from Argentina who is traveling for several months. Wonderful young man and yes, he does tango.

I walked to my friend Shirleys home and we went for coffee. She is the one who told me the Vega family was in Belize city for medical appointments. Mr. Vega had fallen and they were checking him out, he is 93 now.

Back by the Vega Home, I bumped into three people I met from Australia who were on the bus with me from Guatemala. Very nice people. He is a professor and teaches HR related classes.

On the way back to the hostel, I saw two confused looking new arrivals. They had been bombarded by offers for hotels so I walked over and talked to them. They are from the Czech Republic and lite up when I told them my last name was Prochazka. I walked them to an inexpensive place, them being Slovak and Julie.

On the front street I ran into the bread man and bought a coconut chocolate marble cake that was still warm. Today, I am going hunting for him as it is Key Lime Pie Cake day.

Back at the hostel, I met three women from Canada who are traveling for the next three weeks through Guatemala so will help them where I can from my past experience. They are another group I have met from Alberta.

Back at the hostel, I ran into my friends from Toronto so we set out for a beer to watch the sunset and then went to a new restaurant for dinner.

I ended the day by visiting with Maria Vega. That is a typical day of travel for me here.

PHOTOS...my lens stuck open again and I could not get it closed. I knocked it gently on my palm and now, once every 10 or 15 restart efforts, I actually get a photo in focus. These photos may not be in focus but you will get the idea.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



30th January 2010

Dolphin?
Hi, Beautiful photos, we haven't been back to Belize since the honeymoon in '02. Your pictures make me want to get down there for a month. I'm wondering if that's a dolphin in the pic "sunrise this morning" (longer distance photo).
2nd February 2010

No Dolphin
No dolphin, part of the old dock and a sail boat on the horizon. My first trip to Belize was 22 years ago, the last visit to Caye Caulker was in 2002. It's changed a lot since then but again, I remember a sleepy quiet little village. Not more foreign owned businesses and the flavor has changed. Still very peaceful and quiet! Cheers....

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0554s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb