I think the Island Life Suits Me


Advertisement
Published: January 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Sunbathing at the SplitSunbathing at the SplitSunbathing at the Split

Spent most of the day snorkeling, swimming and sunathing outside the Lazy Lizard with the rest of the island.
The island life is definitely suiting me well. Got up around 6 am when the guys woke me. We'd all been out to I and I bar the night before (mmm...Belekin Beer!) but Barbara (from Holland) and I went back not long after an island wide power outage at 10:30 pm. It was a hot and muggy night with rain and no fans - tough to pass out. Anyhow, we all grabbed some tea upstairs, then sat outside the tsumani office until they opened at 8 am so we could rent snorkeling equipment. Then Billy (from Atlanta) and I went to snorkel at the spit for a while. Not the best snorkeling ever, but enjoyable nonetheless. Besides fish we saw some cool jellyfish-like urchins, conch and starfish. Billy was always quick to dive down and bring the fish up for me to see.
Post-snorkeling we hung out with Janneke (from Sweden), weathered a five minute rainstorm and then went for one last swim. By then it was almost 10 am and we were starved. Janneke led us to Sandbag for breakfast burritos and coffee. Alex was already sitting there. Midway through Billy took off for Tikal - we were all sad
Yes, the water really was that blue!Yes, the water really was that blue!Yes, the water really was that blue!

Swimming area near the split in Caye Caulker.
to see him go. Post-breakfast called for sitting around the house doing absolutely nothing. Love. Then back to the split with Janneke and Warren for more snorkeling. The currents were really strong, so we didn't last all that long. But in that short time we did see a few cool things - most notably a huge stingray and this weird fish that looked a lot like a frog. But mostly we spent the afternoon swimming, floating, chatting and sunbathing. It's a cool group here. All people traveling alone with varied backgrounds. Exactly what I was hoping to find when I came here. Eventually I had to call it a day and went in search of banana bread (who knew it could be better than mine?!?!?) and some flip flops - for some reason the tevas aren't fitting like they used to and gave me horrible blisters. So $4 Chinese flip flops it was. Then to Ragamuffin Tours for a briefing on my sailing trip. I'm so unbelievably excited. Three straight days of sailing, snorkeling, camping, seafood...it better live up to my expectations! Killing time now watching Shark Attack 3 (not even joking - even worse than Spring Break Shark Attack)
Sunset at Natasha'sSunset at Natasha'sSunset at Natasha's

$6/night bought me quite the view...
before sunset and dinner. Also - there was a good pirate fed ex commercial. :-)


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

New FriendsNew Friends
New Friends

The crew from Natasha's chilling at an island bar.


Tot: 0.174s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 16; qc: 82; dbt: 0.0908s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb