Day 4 and Day 5 - Amerbgris Caye


Advertisement
Published: December 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post

The GroupThe GroupThe Group

Patty, Jim, Dave and Donna
Missed blogging yesterday, as it was somewhat of a ho-hum day. We did a lot of walking around San Pedro Town as it was too nasty out to dive. It rained off and on all day long and we couldn't dive or snorkel. Today more than made up for it however as it was just a little overcast when we got up, more blue skies than gray, warm and a nice breeze. So we decided to dive at 11:00 and are so glad we did. Like an idiot I forgot my dive watch, but thankfully Michael had recorded my tank pressure, and he allowed me to go ahead and dive without my computer. I stayed close to him so I made sure not to go to deep. Marine life was great! I went back to the condo while we gassed off to get some melon for the boat, and while I was cutting it up, I heard two knocks at the french doors off the balcony, second floor balcony. I didn't see anyone, but I went over and opened the doors and a big iguana (15-20#) darted into the condo, saw me, freaked and ran and jumped in the bathtub. I
DonatellaDonatellaDonatella

Patty rubbing Donatella's back.
had to yell off the balcony at the guys down by the pool to have one of them come and get the big guy out of the tub. A young guy and his wife came up to the condo, the wife promptly jumped up on the kitchen chair once she saw the iguana and didn't move until he was safely outside. Of course everyone at the dive boat was wondering what took me so long.....native Belizians didn't think a thing of it, like it's something that happens everday. Second dive was better than the first. The dive is known for the friendly Moray eel, Donatello. And sure enough as soon as we got down to about 45' there he was, along with a couple of his buddies. Unlike the other two Donatello liked to be petted and yes, I petted him along his back near his head. He really seemed to enjoy the attention. We saw a nice big Hawksbill turtle, a spotted eagle ray and at the end of the dive, I got to hold a Nurse Shark. What a thrill. Tomorrow we fly out early in the morning for Belize City for a Jungle Trek Tour, ATV'ing through
DonatellaDonatellaDonatella

He didn't want us to leave!
the jungle for the guys and horseback riding for the girls. Then we are all going cave tubing, will spend the night in Belmopan, and the next day visit the ruins. We will fly back to Ambergris Caye and unfortunately Dave and Donna head for Seattle. We are glad we are not heading back just yet, there is so much more to see.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0701s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb