notes and photos


Advertisement
Published: February 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

conchconchconch

making its way across the bottom
We have thoroughly enjoyed our time in the Exuma's, but have decided not to go further south at this time. We need to do some provisioning after our time ( longer than expected) at Warderick Wells. This is an absolutely amazing spot.
We really liked Eleuthera when we were there, so have decided to do some more exploring. Yesterday after our arrival, while walking around, I had the fortune to see a large group of moon jellyfish. I understand they have a mild sting. Still I do not plan to swim with them. I also saw another nurse shark. There are several types of sharks present in the Bahamas, many of which are present in fairly shallow water. It is worth paying attention to the water when swimming. Earlier in the day is better, more than one person and do not swim where fishermen are cleaning their catch, or near sewer outfalls. Ok I wont.
I have now identified four different rays. These are lovely creatures to watch swimming. Their movements are graceful. In fact when we first arrived in the Bahamas I came close to stepping on a small ray. I wear swim shoes and was told to
iguanasiguanasiguanas

small group of iguanas
walk in a certain way, so as to avoid stepping directly on things that can sting or nip.
I am enjoying the extremely clear water that allows me to view various sea creatures, often 20 feet below.
Chores await this morning, then our move to Rock Sound for a couple of days. On the hunt for a few things.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

banana quitsbanana quits
banana quits

feeding time
whale skeletonwhale skeleton
whale skeleton

52 foot sperm whale skeleton


Tot: 0.192s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0766s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb