May have lied about no more silly activities...


Advertisement
Published: January 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I will apolagise now as after I promised I would do no dangerous activites we were offered the chance to climb a volcano and get really close to flowing lava... At the time it sounded a great idea. The 6 am start to get to Pakaya wasn´t ideal, the 2 hour hike to get to the lava (only 4km..) again wasn´t that fun but I did get pictures of lava!! The hike up was through jungle, then sand and then lava rock that crumbled under your feet. Both Amy and I have lava rock scars from it falling onto our legs as we got too close to the person in front of us climbing... getting to the lava was strange, you could feel the heat through your feet and it was just so hot (I get that lava is burning at 1000 F but it really was hot up there!!) so we took photos and the basically slide down the side of the volcano for about 100m to get out of the heat. The slide down was quite good fun! Glad I did this, but not sure if I´m going to go up anymore volcanos. Really hard work and I don´t get on with altitude so well (thankfully neither does Amy so I wasn´t the only one suffering!!)

It was the last night with the rest of the group so had a bbq at the hotel. It was really sad saying goodbye to the group and the welcome meeting for the next group was interesting but we shall see how the 2nd tour goes...

Another 6am start tomorrow so we only stayed out to 11. A lot of long travel days with this tour and no more private transport as of the end of tomorrow :-( Oh well!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.304s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.2502s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb