3rd Jan


Advertisement
Published: January 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Left the beautiful Panajachel to return to Antigua. As this has been the cleanest place we have been to I was glad to be going back to spend some more time here. We got in around lunch time and being the creatures of habit we have turned into we went back to the place we spent New Year for some lunch with Amy and Heather.

Aimee and I then did the coffee plantation tour. I do realise that I don´t drink the coffee but you know, it´s good to know where things come from :-) Actually the tour was really interesting and there are so many parts to the process I am surprised coffee is so cheap. To get de-cafe they add chlorine so you really shouldn´t drink it... But they have to go through so many separation processes to get out to not tasty beans that goes to the local markets to make the great coffee that this plantation sends to Starbucks... But they have women that look at the beans one by one to remove any that aren´t good enough. There are 3 layers that need to be removed before you even get to the bean. Would recommend this tour, and I got a free cup at the end (I drank some but still not converted!!!)

We had a 6am start the next day but as this was Michelle and Inders last night we went out for a big group meal which was nice. Michelle had her Mayan horoscope done, and she was told she should be more spiritual!! Looking fwd to getting my appetite back... But have anti-biotics now so on the road to recovery. So not the parasites sucking my blood making me ill for those who were asking!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0959s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb