Jungle trekking and Ayutthaya


Advertisement
Asia
March 9th 2012
Published: March 9th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hello All!

I know it has been a while since I last wrote but I have been on the go and haven't had the best of connections.

Since I last wrote I have been in a small town in norther Thailand called Pai. This town was beautiful! Emma, karl and I took the grueling 3 hour minibus ride, with 762 turns together and met up withChloe and James whom we met in chiang Mai the week before. We found the cutest bungalows along the river for $6 a night! Pai had walking streets lined with bars and markets and lots of good food! We rented scooters and checked out the waterfalls!

We headed back to chiang mai where Lisa from Australia arrived last week. We get along famously! Very glad this has all worked out as it is nice to have a travel buddy. And icing on the cake....she is as organized as me!

Lisa and I headed out on a 2 day trekk in the jungle! We hiked for hours in the hills. Visited the long neck tribes, small villages and finally settled in a small village with no electricity or running water. The ppl were so nice! We bathed in the river with the local kids. they killed the chicken right in front of us for dinner, talk about fresh meat! We slept in tiki huts, on bamboo beds with mosquito nets! A bit of a culture shock but that is why I am here! Oh and there was a litter of new puppies, I was in heaven!!

We then spent a few days in Ayutthaya but was too hot so we decided to head to Bangkok!

Lisa and I are now in Bangkok. I needed to come back here so I could get my passport sorted so I can head to Cambodia as planned. It was an ordeal to say the least! But it is what it is and I will be able to country hop once again very shortly.

We have spent the last few days/night, they seem to blend, walking Koh San road, shopping, eating and mostly drinking. Met a ton of great people. Got into an argument with a guy from Toronto and a guy from Winnipeg about our respective hockey teams last night ( or this morning hehehe) and of course I was victorious! They all agree the Canucks are kicking some ass these days! We are planning to meet at the one bar that shows games to watch the next game. It will be nice to have some familiarity to an evening!

Reet arrives tomorrow morning! I am so excited to see a her! We will spend a feW nights in Bangkok then head south to Koh Samet for some beach time!

I will write again as soon as I can!

Love and miss you all!

Advertisement



9th March 2012

Jungle trekking and Ayutthaya
Awesome article. I love reading your article about trekking.It has lot of information about trekking.I wanted to leave a little comment to support you and wish you a good continuation. Wish you best of luck for all your best efforts.

Tot: 0.178s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0523s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb