Chiang Mai and Spicythai Hostel


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
February 23rd 2012
Published: February 23rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hello again All!

I have finally found a free minute to actually sit down and write an entry! After a really fun train ride from Bangkok to Chiang Mai, I have arrived safely in Chiang Mai. This place is a wonderful change from Bangkok. I have been lucky enough to be staying at a fairly social hostel called SpicyThai Backpackers. I met a lovely girl from England named Emma and we have hit it off quite nicely. Almost everyone here is from England and I reckon I have picked up an English accent now!

The first night I got here the owner took us all bowling! Too much fun, I haven't bowled in years! I spent the next day at the pool with about the entire hostel, sun bathing and drinking some beers. Made it to the night bazaar and had the best Thai noodle soup ever! Then We all the hit up a gorgeous rooftop reggae bar for a few more and some dancing!

Then the highlight of my trip so far, elephant training! As most of you have read via Facebook, I dislocated my shoulder quite badly and almost past out in the middle of the mountains surrounded by elephants! But luckily I got it back in and was told I was a trooper the rest of the day! I cannot tell you how amazing these creatures are, Just spectacular! We learned how to ride them bareback, not on the seats as most people do it. We learned a few different ways of getting on and off ( this is how I dislocated it my shoulder), what to feed them etc. then they literally just gave a pair of us each an elephant and said take her for a walk! As fun as it is, it is really scary as they are HUGE and it takes a lot of muscles to stay balanced on their backs. We then got to bathe them, this was by far the best part and they loved it! Making like purring noises and playing with the spongy soap bars they give us to wash them with. They lay down in the water and sprayed us! This is something everyone needs to do at least Once in their lifetime.

After a very much needed nap and pain killers from Germany I was made a makeshift sling and headed out for some dancing! I was introduced to Thai Buckets! No one can prepare you for how big they are! And at like $6 iis was all I needed to forget the pain of my arm and have an awesome night. All the bars are open and bunched together. So you just walk around from bar to bar, bucket in hand of course! Once everyone was nice and liquored it got harder and harder to keep track of everyone! It was a really fun night and my first real night out in Thailand, really getting a feel for what the next 3 months will be like.....hangovers in this heat SUCK! But they are squashed nicely by a cold pool and lots of water!

Tonight we are heading out for a night trek with the hostel. The owner Noom makes this place one of the most popular in chiang Mai because he is constAntly arranging nights out and ensuring everyone is included.

The girl from England I met, Emma, another guy Karl and I are all heading to Pai tomorrow for the weekend Pai is about a 4 hour bus ride north of Chiang Mai and is apparently so layed back and the scenery is beautiful. ***i think I need to find some different adjectives if I'm going to keep this blog up!***

the girl from Australia, Lisa, arrives on Tuesday so I will be back to chiang Mai to meet up with her.

So I will write when I have some more time! Hope you are all enjoying my adventure!



Chao for now. Love and miss you all xoxoxo

Advertisement



Tot: 0.182s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0462s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb