Reet's visit and Koh Samet


Advertisement
Asia
April 4th 2012
Published: April 4th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hello All!



Again it has been a long while since I have had the time and the resources to sit down and actually write an entry!

So last time I wrote Lisa and I were in Ayuthaya in Thailand. From there we took an hour and a half train ride to Bangkok. We took a train with all the locals! It was awesome! Only fans and barely any sitting room but gave us a really good feel for how the locals actually travel. And it only cost us $0.50! Can't beat it! Take that Vancouver transiT authority!

And then Reet arrived in Bangkok! It was amazing to open the door and see Reet standing there! Since we have had several drunk evenings at home talking about being in thailand together, realizing this dream with her was particularly special.

My friend Emma, who I met in Chiang Mai, also met up with us. We spent a few very messy nights checking out the ping pong shows and all that Bangkok has to offer with respect to night life! And trust me Bangkok can be a lot of fun!

Then it was beach time! We then headed to a lovely island called Koh Samet just three hours south east of Bangkok. We met a girl from Australia named Stacey on the boat ride over to the island and invited her to stay with us. She turned out to be one of the nicest people I have met so far. Koh Samet has fabulous beaches! I don't think I slept for 5 days! Koh Samet was awesome! It is just one long beach with tons of bungalows and restaurantS and Bars that go all night long. I danced my ass off every night! We went swimming every night after the bar, the water is so warm! I met a nice guy named Ben and spent some time with him as well. He works on koh samet and showed us around for a few days. Every morning, after the best walks of shame of my life down the gorgeous beach btw, we would get in our loungers order coffee and buy fruit from the ladies walking by. I read about three books in 6 days and got a great tan. Reet and Stacey Just so happen to be flying home on the same day and headed back to Bangkok together. I was soooooo sad to see Reet go!

Lisa's and I spent another few days on Koh Samet then headed to Bangkok for our flights to Phnom Pehn, Cambodia. Unfortunately, we must have lost track of time on Koh Samet because our flight was on the Monday not on the Tuesday as we thought. Damn! So we sucked it up, took a train to a small boadrer town in thailand and met up with Ben and his friend Nicole and headed for the Cambodia boader via land! A bit of a detour but that is the fun of backpacking I guess!

To be continued........



Miss and love everyone tooooooooo much!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0341s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb