Singapore/Johor Bahru


Advertisement
Asia
January 27th 2011
Published: January 27th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Singapore 24th of January



This entry may be a bit short as the last entry I had spent 2 hours writing is lost as the site just lcoked me out without saving any of the text, I'm rather annoyed.

We decided on a few beverages after my last depressing entry (I may need a couple after this one now) and headed to a little German Beer bar near Raffles hotel we had one quick beer and left as the beer was expensive and not that great. So we headed back to a little pub we saw earlier advertising "1 for 1 tiger beer" which is the exact deal I would have at my pub "Welcome to James' Pub, happy hour 1030 - 2300 all beers buy one get one" we found out they had a much better way of tricking there customers. We had two tigers each courtesy of the buy 1 get 1 offer and asked for the bill, we were stunned when the bill was $33 sing dollars $16.50 each (or $8.25 1 for 1) which is enough to buy to live tigers in any of the other countries we had been to, even worse was our discovery that $8.25 a beer was actually cheap in Sing most places were at least $12 each (I'm going to tell the rugby boys back home Singapore is a fantastic place to go for their end of year trip). That put an end to our big night, probably a good thing as I was getting on a train to Johor Bahru at 0800 the next morning.

Johor Bahru 25th of January



Johor Bahru is city in the South of Malaysia an hour train trip from Keppel Rd terminal in the middle of Singapore, it is also where my dad is currently living and after spending the day there I can understand why.
The train trip to JB cost $12 sgd and was over in no time. The trip took 45 minutes including customs and immigration. I met dad around 0915, he showed me one of the main streets in JB, one of the first things you notice in JB (Malaysia) is the prices everything is so cheap, a huge relief as Singapore had put pressure on the budget. Dad and I spent the whole day relaxing in the restraunts on the streets of JB enjoying nice (sweet) coffee, beautiful Malaysian food and cheap cold beer the only problem was the toilet which like all authentic restraunts throughout Asia had a chopstick as a lock and no toilet paper (I still haven't mastered the bum washer). I had a fantastic day and was sad to leave around 1950 to catch an 2000 train back to Sing. I got to the station with 5 mins to spare and was happy to find the train was running late allowing me a much needed toilet break. What followed was one of the most embarassing moments of my life and in hindsight one of the funniest, I can't write about it on my blog as its public, if you remind me when I get home I will tell you the story. I got back to the Gallery Hotel in Sing around 2200 and was really happy to be reunited with Amanda who had had an equally excellent day and was glad she wasn't present for the incident.

I will load up some overdue photos and write the rest later.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0212s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb