Cape York


Advertisement
Asia
October 10th 2010
Published: October 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Fishing WeipaFishing WeipaFishing Weipa

This is Blackey with the biggest catfish I have seen
Well what an experience and adventure Cape York was. I think I ended up spending 3 weeks up there and didn't really scratch the surface of the places to see and things to do.
Having said that, most of the Cape wasn't really all that spectacular scenery wise. I mean it is a bit more tropical but really wasn't that much different to diving around the Vic high country. But that relates mainly to the main tracks and areas. The beaches were pretty awesome,
and the fishing was amazing. I think the Cape is more about the adventure and the people you meet. I met some truly amazing people on my travels who you can see on the right or in my video. For all those people who keep saying its dangerous and you will get lonely travelling aloneā€¦. Trust me there were times that I had to stay in my tent just to be alone. There are just that many friendly people who are all on the same journey as me. Firstly Alan, Pommy and Richard. I met up with these guys whilst I was doing a separate track up there called the Overland telegraph track. Its a famous and
AlanAlanAlan

This was the muddy from the video
rough track and a bit of a challenge. One particular spot which is the renowned Gunshot crossing with near vertical entry into the creek is where These boys had just come through and were nice enough to use my video to tape me doing it and guide me through. Later that day after doing half of the track I ended up camping next to them and having a few beers etc. Alan and Pommy were on Motorbikes with Richard as there support vehicle. Richard wasn't going to do the rest of the track as it gets progressively worse and without recovery gear was a wise choice. However, I suggested I tag along with them and if they get into a bother I can snatch them out. So it was decided and we set off the next day. What was to follow was some of the best times I have had in soooo long. From Pommy's car sinking ( video to come on that one) to getting on the piss in siesta with the locals at the caravan park. there was too much that went on to write about it all but it was awesome to have met these guys and
WayneWayneWayne

Top bloke from tagalong tours. Helped up out with oil at Jardine crossing for Pommies car ( more on that later )
i am sure we will be friends for a long time to come.

After the boys left Seisha (its pretty much at the tip of Aus) to head back I decided to stay for another 5 nights as it really is an awesome place. I caught the biggest Mud crab ever up there ( Video to come of that one also ) but after 3 nights 3 families decided to camp pretty much on top of me with screaming babies and the loudest snoring I have ever heard in my life. So I decided to leave 2 days early bugger them.

I then decided to spend a week or so over in Weipa and thats where I met up with Blackey. Funny how you just meet everyone all over the place. Blackey I first met up in Seisha fishing on the wharf and then ended up camping next to him in Weipa ( small world lol) so the next few days me and Blackey went exploring and fishing around the place and had a good old time. Caught a few nice fish and a tonne of muddies.

Once Blackey had left I decided to book another 5
Burn Burn Burn

This is what happens when you dump hot oil and water out of a transmission and it pours out onto you
nights, only to that night be met by the people who had camped next to me in siesta were now on top of me again in Weipa. Luckily they were only there for the night. The next night however 2 young families of dickheads pulled in right net to me. Stoned off there heads and yelling and fighting ( the 2 blokes were punching on ) F*%#ING C*&T every 2 seconds being yelled all night and my tent now stinking of dope I decided to just leave. Left Melbourne to get away from that shit.

The Troopy never even looked like getting stuck and am still just so impressed with this 4x4.

So in a Nutshell thats what the cape was all about. It was a brilliant time and one not to be forgotten anytime soon. I could see this becoming a yearly pilgrimage for me!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

ThomThom
Thom

From Black Coral who played at the Seisha caravan park
JimJim
Jim

The youngest 70 year olds I have seen ever :-) Met at Seisha,
The topThe top
The top

We made it to the top of Australia
OTL trackOTL track
OTL track

Where the OTL track meets the Jardine river. Officially completed the whole track
Cape York TanCape York Tan
Cape York Tan

Yep 1 hour without sunscreen is enough


Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0691s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb