Cairns


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns » Inn The Tropics
September 12th 2010
Published: September 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Camp site Camp site Camp site

Not sure if I have added this one. This is the camp site in cairns
Well its now been 6 beautiful nights in Cairns. It really is an awesome place to visit but I don't think I would live here as its way too touristy. I put it on the same scale as surfers paradise. I went down the esplanade on Friday to take a few pics around the swimming thing they have down there and there must have been at least 500 - 1000 people sitting and lazing around. There was this awesome musician busking with this freaky looking guitar ( see pic ), I think I will get one of his cd's on the way back thorough.

I did only one day of fishing and mud crabbing up the Barron river, but to no avail. I got a heap of mud crabs but they were all either female of undersize and one bit me the little bastard. And it hurt like bloody hell!!! Will be getting plenty up the cape I hope!!!

The rest of the days have been spent loosely planning the Cape trip by the pool, or getting the car a bit more sorted. Checked all the oils again and changed the rear diff oil, ITS WAS LIKE MUD !!!
Fishing spotFishing spotFishing spot

I was driving along and just saw this dirt track amongst the cane fields. Went down and found the river. Not a bad little spot
the oil came out was a real light brown colour so not good but am guessing this was before me and Ryan changed the rear axle seals so should be all good now.

Am looking at getting a camcorder tomorrow before leaving town, Think it would be good to record a lot of the stuff I am doing to look back on later in life :-)

SOOO the plan going forward!!! I will be heading off tomorrow and staying the night in Port Douglas, the next day going to the Daintree Rainforest ( not sure where I am camping yet) then on to Bloomfield falls. after that I will hit Cooktown and am planning on staying there for a few days before the real adventure begins. Apparently there is awesome fishing off the wharf so should be fun. After that I am taking the battle camp track through to Musgrave the on to the Old telegraph track through to the top. Will be stopping a lot along the way at all the falls etc. Then once at the top will do a lot of the side treks on the way back. I just want to get to the
Fishing spot1Fishing spot1Fishing spot1

Small gap. Just enough for a few crab pots and to toss a lure :-)
top first before the wet season starts. All up I think I will be up around there for about a month. I have got a storage shed in Cairns and dumped pretty much everything except all my spares etc. Will be camping in the car or in a cheap flywire shelter I bought.

Anyway enough for now. I will probably update next when I hit cook town which should be in about 2-3 days time.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Beach poolBeach pool
Beach pool

This is pretty cool. At low tide there is no water so they have this huge pool on the beach front that you just walk up to and can go for a swim. this is where there were about 500 people one day.
Amazing YachtAmazing Yacht
Amazing Yacht

This thing was absolutely huge. All the little boats you see off to the right are all 30 foot plus!!! It was enourmous. The sails were all whiched up with hydraulics. They were travelling around the world I take it as they were loading pallett loads of supplies!!
Another amazing boat.Another amazing boat.
Another amazing boat.

this thing was super futuristic LOL looked amazing inside from what i could see. the photo's really dont do it justice how big it is
Weird ass guitarWeird ass guitar
Weird ass guitar

this was the busker. Pretty awesome tunes he was playing. Funny thing I tend to find is that all the people playing didgeridoos are always white lol


12th September 2010
Weird ass guitar

glad your having a great time be careful of those toothys in the creeks

Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.049s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb