Cairns


Advertisement
Asia
October 10th 2010
Published: October 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Cairns

So now am back in Cairns and have been here for 5 days. Caught up with Alan again and he helped me out with a tonne of stuff and pointed me in the right direction for getting my GPS. Printed out a few pics for him and his family which I think they were happy with.

Did the touristy thing this time, Went and took a ride on the sky rail which was good for the views you get but the stops on the way were pretty average. You do little walks through the rain forrest at a few stops, Little being the operative word ( about 50 metres) would have been good to get to walk right into it. However at the the side of the sky rail is the town of Korumbah or Kuranda ( I forgot). This was a pretty cool little place and I actually went back the next day with th car to explore some more. Went to Barron falls, did the Bird Zoo and the Venom Zoo ( was one room with spiders in it and 2 snakes LOL ) It reminded me a lot of the Dandenongs only more tropical. You could spend a few days there easy.

The rest of the time unfortunately it has been Raining. It basically started when I left Weipa and everyone is saying that the wet has arrived early this year ( just my luck 6 weeks early !!!). It pours every night right throughout the night and then is mainly overcast and humid during the day with some showers. This just makes everything damp, the bedding, the doona, me!!! and the tent is now covered in mould which I spent half of today cleaning. Isocol mixed with water is the go!!!!

So tomorrow I am off to Millaa Millaa with a stop in at Tinaroo for a night or 2 maybe. Milla Milla is meant to have some of the most photographed falls in Australia so I better go check them out. After there I will head up to Kurumba which is in the Gulf and if the weather isn't to bad will spend a few days there and then slowly make my way over to Darwin. So I am guessing that I will be offline again for a few weeks again.

This early wet season has put a real spanner in the works as I thought I would have a lot more time to go explore the top end around Darwin etc so will just see how we go.

Until next time enjoy the pics and the video's:-)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0387s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb