Hanoi'd at the heat (boom boom)


Advertisement
Asia
July 2nd 2010
Published: July 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Just a normal street...Just a normal street...Just a normal street...

Bikes, bikes, bikes...
Ola all...

Right well I am now up in north Vietnam, in Hanoi...is a far more manageable city than Bangkok..

Ickle memories and thoughts so far:

* ordering a tofu burger in Bangkok airport and being asked if I wanted the beef or pork one. Like a tofu/meat hybred. Erm...neither.... this restuarant also sold the 'beef bugger' set. hehe.

* there were lots of older english and american guys at the airport clearly taking home new thai brides. Was quite sad. Lots of crying girls and awkward looking men attemping to hug them and saying 'Be OK, Be OK'

* A lady wearing a t-shirt that said 'they had a wonky smile but everyone was look at his glasses'...it just amused me. I want one.

* Sara - the hostel does trips to 'Snake Village' - where you can hold them, eat their hearts and drink snake wine. Think I will be giving it a miss!!!

Was picked up from Hanoi airport by a private car that the hostel had booked...seriously the bloke drivcing was surely only 16...I am not convinced he even had a license. worst driving ever. Although he didn't do a
Why you can't walk on pavements...Why you can't walk on pavements...Why you can't walk on pavements...

bikes, chairs, bikes, people eating dinner...
'mummy murphy' and hit the pavements so I will consider myself lucky! The roads in Hanoi are MANIC. there are mopeds everywhere - thousands of them. Have discovered the secret of crossing the road is just to walk in front of them all and they don't hit you. superb.

Went for a long wander last night (not actually intentionally - just got lost)...and went down a lot of the local streets down in the south area of hanoi...locals all cook and eat out on the street, along with loads of motor biokes parked up on the pavement - takes ages to get anywhere (which is why they all travel by bike I imagine!)...smiled at lots of people which they seem to like and they like to shout their english at you: 'hello, hello!!!' and 'number one lady!" and some seemed very excited by my 'blonde, blonde' hair...the kids were all just running free and playing games in the street...was very sweet. they get rather excited seeing a white english person...like asking my name. very cute.

Mum - a couple of ladies were very excited by my shoes last night - the turquoisey ones you got me! They had
Kids on bikes...Kids on bikes...Kids on bikes...

Bikesb, bikes, bikes everywhere - piled up with people, animals and food...and little kids!! Lots of them!
a feel and everything and liked very much. they spoke no english but made lots of smileys and signs for 'ohhh they're squishy and bouncy'.........


Am going to go up to the old quater of Hanoi now (close your eyes mum) by motor bike taxi...supposed to be good...will try and catch the water puppet show.

The heat is still strong and very humid. Feeling slightly less wussy now that I just spoke to an Aussie guy who was saying the heat is no-where like this bad in Oz...

I kept seeing signs for a gym in London that said 'Sweat is Gods way of telling you you are getting more beautiful'........well if this is true, I am going to come back an absolute fecking stunner.

Right....off to drink water and exploreeeeeeeeeeeee!

Smurfs x





Advertisement



6th July 2010

Sweaty Betty
Hey trouble, sounds like fun out there. Just my cup of tea with my renowned love for heat.. Had a good time at the hop farm at the weekend, although I needed you there to take a cool picture for my facebook profile. Alas I will have to keep my current one. Alice was as cool as ever and I spent a lot of the Saturday with either her or Jack on my shoulders, think my spine is a little shorter now. Everyone seemed to have a good time though and Seasick Steve was really good. I like reading about your travels, it's great to know what your up to when i have the thought of going to work in my head!! anyway you take care and look forward to hearing from you soon. Love from the now 35 years old. Kxx
7th July 2010

Groooan
Hanoi'd... /facepalm :) Xxx

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0383s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb